Skip to Main Content

Starting Your Research Series (SYRS): Tutorials

Finding citations in databases

Finding citations in UC Library Search

  1. To find a citation in a UC Library Search catalog record, first look for materials in the catalog. Click the title of a resource to get the full record.

A search in UC Library Search for 'supply chain management.' A book title in the results is outlined with a red box for emphasis

  1. Once you're in the catalog record for the resource, look for the "Citation" icon, below the title and publishing information. It looks like a quotation mark.

A screenshot of the citation button on the book's record in UC Library Search

  1. When you click the Citation icon, you'll have the opportunity to pull up the citation for the resource in a variety of formats. Here's the citation to the resource in MLA format.
  2. Click "Copy to Clipboard" to cut and paste the citation into a bibliography in a separate document.

A screenshot of the option to "Copy to clipboard"

 

Find citations in EBSCO databases

In any EBSCO database (Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, PsycINFO, and others), the article records will include an option to choose a citation format. Look for the "Cite" option on the right side of the record:

Screen capture of an ebsco database page showing the record of an article with an arrow pointing to the Cite button

When you click the "Cite" button, you'll get the citation for the article in various formats, including the most commonly used formats, and you can copy and paste into a separate document.

Screen capture of citation format options available in EBSCO databases

 

Find citations in ProQuest databases

The "Cite" button in ProQuest databases (PsycINFO, ProQuest Ebook Center, and others) is in a similar location to the "Cite" button in EBSCO databases, and also works similarly:

A screen capture of an article record in ProQuest databases with an arrow indicating the location of the Cite button

 

ALWAYS CHECK DATABASE CITATIONS FOR ACCURACY!

While most database citations will be correctly formatted, errors can creep into the final citation. The final section of this module lists online citation style guides like the OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue. These guides provide excellent guidance on citation formatting and will help you find errors in database citations.

Click Next to learn about creating citations from information found in books and journal articles.