Human Rights - Sociology 215: Graduate Research Methods (Beattie - Spring 2025) - LibGuides at University of California Merced

Recommended Databases

PAIS Index
Previously PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service). Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Archives of the New York Academy of Sciences
1803 - 2013. Focuses on environmental history, human rights, public health and ethics, and the history of science and medicine in North America via manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, proceedings, maps, surveys, data and ephemera. Via Wiley.

Human Rights

Center for Human Rights Documentation & Research (CHRDR)
The official designated repository for the archives of major human rights organizations such as Amnesty International USA, the Committee of Concerned Scientists, Human Rights First, and Human Rights Watch.
Human Rights Indicators - UN Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights
Human Rights Indicators: A Guide to Measurement and Implementation / Interactive Map: Status of Ratification of Human Rights Treaties / Map: Accreditation of National Human Rights Institutions.
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is an independent, international organization that works to uphold human dignity and advance the cause of human rights for all.
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
More than 65,000 documents treaties and conventions, research guides and pathfinders, refugee and asylum resources, and more.
Children - Child Rights Information Network (CRIN)
Dedicated to changing how societies and governments view children and to making the enforcement of current human rights more systematically inclusive of children.
Amnesty International Library Online Documentation Archive
Publications including reports, news releases and urgent actions, 1996 to the present. Search by country, region, theme, etc.
Human Rights Documentation Initiative (HRDI)
The UT Libraries’ Human Rights Documentation Initiative (HRDI) is committed to the long-term preservation of fragile and vulnerable records of human rights struggles worldwide, the promotion and secure usage of human rights archival materials, and the advancement of human rights research and advocacy around the world. The HRDI collection contains harvested internet resources and audiovisual materials created by partner organizations.

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444