Sociology 215: Graduate Research Methods (Beattie - Spring 2025)

A website providing free public access to detailed descriptions of primary source collections (manuscripts, historic photos, etc.) maintained by libraries, archives, and museums throughout California.

A regional website hosting finding aides from Idaho, Oregon, Montana, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

The National Archives Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by NARA forever. NARA has online exhibits that cover a wide variety of topics and formats that document our history. https://www.archives.gov/exhibits NARA has also put together a list of digital collections as well as subject-oriented virtual collections. https://www.archives.gov/research/alic/reference/virtual-library.html#m1

Photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and more digitized from US libraries and cultural heritage institutions.

e.g. The Letters of John Muir, lesson plans

Includes photos related to El Malcriado among others.

Oral histories and artifacts associated with Bracero program (1942-1964), where millions of Mexican agricultural workers worked in the United States.

Includes a digitized collection of issues of El Malcriado, UFW Legal documents, Food and Justice magazine, Dick Meisert Labor Writer Archive, SNCC Newspaper, NY Times UFW Archive, and FBI UFW Surveillance.

Records of PCUN -- the Pineros y Campesinos Unidos del Noroeste (Northwest Treeplanters and Farmworkers United) -- established in 1985 in Woodburn, Oregon. Most of these records are not digitized, requiring travel to Eugene for viewing and use.