Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sobre esta página
The books listed on this page have been suggested by the Spanish language professors at UC Merced. Some are textbooks, and others are useful reference books.
Libros de referencia para la escritura académica
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbookprovided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary by Authoritative and up-to-date, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 130,000 translations of contemporary Spanish and English. Hundreds of new words from Spanish and English have been added from computing and technology to healthand lifestyle, based on findings from Oxford's English and Spanish language Reading Programmes. Includes excellent coverage of both European and Latin American Spanish.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Spanishgrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in the Spanish-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplement gives help with all types ofcorrespondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.
Call Number: UC Merced eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Libros de referencia para la literatura española
Historia de la Literatura Hispanoamericana (History of Hsipanoamerican Literature) by
Publication Date: 1985
Three volumes available from UC Irvine campus.
Historia de la Literatura Hispanoamericana by
Call Number: PQ7081 .B347 1985
Publication Date: 1985
Available in the UC Merced Library
Modern Latin American Literature by
Call Number: PQ7081 .F631 1975
Publication Date: 1975
Available from 7 libraries in the UC System
Handbook of Latin American literature by
Publication Date: 1992
This ebook is available from the UCM Library
The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature by
Call Number: PQ6033 .C36 2004
Publication Date: 2005
This book is on the shelves of the Kolligian Library.
Affinity of the Eye by
Call Number: F3619.J3 L67 2013
Publication Date: 2013-06-06
Uses politics and literature to provide one of the first comprehensive looks at how the Japanese assimilated and inserted themselves into Peruvian culture. Available on the shelves of the UC Merced Library.
Don Quijote de La Mancha by
Call Number: PQ6323 .A1 1979b
El español en los Estados Unidos: E Pluribus Unum? Enfoques multidisciplinario by
Publication Date: 2013
Este volumen (escrito en español, con resúmenes en inglés) reúne 17 estudios sobre diversos aspectos del español en los Estados Unidos,
El Espejo Enterrado by
Call Number: DP48 .F84 2001
En Otras Palabras by
This textbook combines incisive grammar explanation, relevant lexical information, and a wide variety of translation texts and exercises.
Introducciòn a la lingüìstica Hispànica by
Older versions are available through ILL
MÁS: español intermedio by M#65533;S is an Intermediate Spanish program built on the assumption that students learn best when they are fully engaged. Each component of the M#65533;S experience is designed to spark curiosity and inspire critical thinking, from its unique magazine format to its thought-provoking readings and stunning short film collection. In addition to providing intriguing and timely cultural content and a solid review of structures covered in the first year, M#65533;S places a strong emphasis on open-ended communication, ensuring that students benefit from a wealth of opportunities for communicative practice, both in class and online. Students who need additional practice with grammar and vocabulary to meet second-year expectations can strengthen their skills using LearnSmart, an adaptive learning tool that gives them the opportunity to focus their study time where they most need it. Through its diverse and lively view of the Spanish-speaking world, M#65533;S motivates a new generation of students to be inspired to communicate in Spanish. This new, stronger edition of M#65533;S welcomes multiple new readings, more communicative activities, new visuals, an eBook, as well as multiple resources online through Connect Spanish that address a variety of learning styles and student behaviors. Each feature of M#65533;S has been carefully selected to introduce important elements of the Spanish-speaking world and encourage exploration of different mediums of authentic content to both inspire and intrigue students' language learning experience. We are excited about the many new learning opportunities we have brought to this edition of M#65533;S, and we hope that it pushes our students to explore the Spanish-speaking world beyond the classroom, always seeking to learn and do more. *Connect Spanish, including but not limited to the workbook/lab manual, LearnSmart, the video program, and chat tools, is sold separately and does not come automatically with the purchase of the textbook.
Publication Date: 2013-01-11
Puntos de Partida by