Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Libros de referencia para investigaciones académicas
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbookprovided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary by
Authoritative and up-to-date, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 130,000 translations of contemporary Spanish and English. Hundreds of new words from Spanish and English have been added from computing and technology to healthand lifestyle, based on findings from Oxford's English and Spanish language Reading Programmes. Includes excellent coverage of both European and Latin American Spanish.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Spanishgrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in the Spanish-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplement gives help with all types ofcorrespondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.
Call Number: UC Merced eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Algunos bases de datos con informacíon en español
You can limit to results written in Spanish using language limiters.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 & 2 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of historical articles and books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture as well as over 100 newspaper titles and books on Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries Written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
Chicano Database (EBSCO)
Includes over 67,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources including newspapers, books and book chapters. The database provides coverage dating back to the 1960s and selective indexing dating back to the early 1900s. Subject coverage includes art, bilingual education, education, labor, literature, mental health, law, poetry, politics and sociology.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering both national and regional coverage. It also includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, the historical file covering the years 1959-1989, offers a rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Latin American Data Base This link opens in a new window
LADB is a news and information service on Latin America which produces three weekly electronic publications: NotiCen, NotiSur, and SourceMex. Includes over 28,000 articles from a variety of Latin American news sources and journals.
Latino Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
Access over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources
Access local newspapers, most articles are in English, these provide information on local issues.
Por Universidad de la Rioja, es uno de los mayores portales bibliográficos de acceso libre, cuyo principal cometido es dar mayor visibilidad a la literatura científica hispana.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1926 - present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.