Looking for U.S. Federal Data?

The Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Our goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk. We want to know what is happening in the community so that we can coordinate focus. Efforts include: data gathering, data curation and cleaning, data cataloging, and providing sustained access and distribution of data assets.

Generalist repository available to help with data publication, storage, and preservation

They work with Public Environmental Data Project (see below).

The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The ETWA contains federal government websites (.gov, .mil, etc) in the Legislative, Executive, or Judicial branches of the government. Websites that were at risk of changing (i.e., whitehouse.gov) or disappearing altogether during government transitions were captured. Local government websites, or any other site not part of the federal government domain were out of scope.

They have been focusing on data.gov and should release data soon. #SafeguardingResearch is in contact with them to mirror data on servers not in US-jurisdiction

They have the older version of a lot of major data, including a recent addition from the CDC.

Cataloging efforts are ongoing.

A volunteer has pointed out that “key equity data” is missing from the Dept of Energy. Says they were able to find it on this site. Includes additional data from DOE.
Note that OEDI is run by NREL which is part of DOE. Several energy efficiency consultants have received tips that NREL has been ordered to start taking datasets offline. It’s not clear if OEDI data may be removed or not.

The OSF, from the Center for Open Science, is available as an option for pre-prints of articles.

Many universities also have institutional repositories where research (articles, data, dissertations, etc) from that institution can be posted. They also have preservation mandates. An example is UC's eScholarship.

A coalition committed to preserving and providing public access to federal environmental data.

• January 31, 2025 - CDC’s Social Vulnerability Index and Environmental Justice Index
  
• January 24, 2025 - EPA Council on Environmental Quality Environmental Justice Scorecard
  
• January 24, 2025 - Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool

Roper Center has collected over 50,000 files (datasets and documentation) from 22 federal survey projects. Efforts to this point have been focused on acquiring the files and ensuring backup copies are preserved on multiple servers.

Joint initiative of the Sabin Center for Climate Change Law and the Climate Science Legal Defense Fund. Tracks government attempts to restrict or prohibit scientific research, education or discussion, or the publication or use of scientific information.

Contains NOAA data pulled during the 2017 data rescue

The Wayback Machine is an initiative of the Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Other projects include Open Library & archive-it.org.

Distributed crawler, run by volunteers. They upload data, like the U.S. Federal Data page, to Archive.org.

A reddit community that is coordinating efforts to rescue data.

Index of resources and archives related to data hoarding, web archival and self hosting

Run by BigLocalNews and MuckRock.

Data uploaded by the Climate Change and Health Research Coordinating Center (CAFE) that focuses on health and the environment. Includes CDC's Social Vulnerability Index data.

Based in EU, USA and global, this effort has access to multiple hundreds TBs (up to 1,000TB) of storage & people willing to seed. Currently, it has around 1TB of data backed up, including >100.000 PDFs from academia.edu (see the forum for the full list), 350GB web archive of CDC, including all 30.000 files from archive.cdc.gov, and much more.

Mirrored and archived public data on locally hosted git server
Includes retrieved data sets from CDC, NIH, and NOAA