Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Workshop Recordings

A complete listing of workshop recordings arranged by topic and presentation date.

Blue banner with a stack of paper back books and the title text of: Citation Management

Using APA, 7th Edition ( ~ 36 Minutes) APA, 7th edition is the most recent version of this citation style, commonly used by practitioners in the social sciences and some scientific fields. Learn how to cite journals, books, book chapters, in-text citations, and other important aspects of APA formatting. Recorded March 2022. 

Understanding MLA 9th Edition ( ~ 40 Minutes) MLA recently released its latest edition to this popular citation format. Learn about the new elements and concepts of sources and containers. Recorded November 3, 2021. 

Understanding MLA 8th Edition ( ~ 30 Minutes) This 30 minute video teaches you to make proper citations in MLA 8th Edition. Recorded March 11, 2021.

Avoiding Plagiarism: When to Cite, When to Paraphrase ( ~ 30 Minutes)  This 30 minute video guides through what plagiarism is, how to avoid common mistakes, and how to maintain academic honesty in your work. Recorded March 9, 2021

Manage Your Research with RefWorks (~ 1 Hour) RefWorks is an online citation manager, organizing your sources in one location to help you with your academic work. Recorded February 26th, 2021

Choosing a Citation Management Tool (1 Hour) Compare the features of three popular citation management tools: Zotero, Mendeley, and RefWorks to find the one that is a good fit for your work. Recorded February 23, 2021

Using Zotero to Manage Your Research (50 Minutes) Learn how to use the online tool, Zotero, to organize research, collaborate with fellow researchers, and create citations in many styles. Recorded February 8, 2021

Blue banner with open metal file drawers and the tile text of Searching for Information

Three Strategies for Searching (~ 13 Minutes) Learn three helpful strategies to locate the information you need in our Library databases for your academic work. Recorded February 23, 2021

Start Your Research Smart: Three Searching Strategies (~ 18 Minutes) Part of the Start Your Research Smart 20-Minute Workshop Series, this video will guide you through three important tips for finding academic journals in the Academic Search Complete database. Recorded February 2, 2021

Blue banner with papers of graphs and charts and the title text reading Research Skills

Search Tips in JSTOR (~ 33 Minutes) JSTOR is a go-to database with article, books, and primary source full-text content. It is especially valued for humanities research even though it features 75 disciplines. This brief workshop will highlight strategies for leveraging your searches in JSTOR with a focus on Advanced Search, Subject Browse, and the Text Analyzer Tool. Recorded March 2022.

ARTSTOR's Content & Features (~ 19 Minutes) ARTSTOR provides access to over 2.5 million curated images from 300 collections including those found at museums, art institutes, libraries etc. Sara highlights available content, recommends search strategies, and demonstrates how to create groups. Recorded March 2022.

Web of Science's New Interface (Web of Science Database) ( ~ 23 Minutes) Web of Science redesigned its interface earlier this year.  Learn more about available content, search functionality, and analytical features in this multidisciplinary citation database. Recorded October 19, 2021. 

Using BrowZine & LibKey Nomad (UC Library Search) (~ 18 Minutes) BrowZine & LibKey Nomad are two new tools found in UC Library Search, the library's catalog. Learn how to use BrowZine to follow specific journals based on your preferences and organize article content. Also, gain helpful tips to use LibKey Nomad to quickly go directly to the full-text of most articles. Recorded September 2021

Finding News Sources (~ 30 Minutes) Learn how to search our library database for newspaper sources, which can be a valuable research tool. Discover local, national, and international newspaper sources and search strategies to locate articles. Recorded July 2021

Introduction to Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) (~ 15 Minutes) This short introduction to digital object identifiers or DOIs, will provide insight into what a DOI is, why they can help you locate articles, and why they may be preferred in your citations. Recorded March 4, 2021

Blue banner with three computer monitors displaying graphs and charts and title text of Finding & Using Data

Introduction to Locating Secondary Data & Searching Data Repositories: Social Sciences Edition (~1 Hour) This workshop was recorded as part of #UCLoveData week. Learn how to navigate social sciences data repositories to find relevant information and data. Recorded February 9, 2021

Blue banner with a wooden book case in the shape of a speech bubble and the title text of Library Basics

Using Images with Confidence (~30 Minutes) Learn how to become a confident and ethical user of images by gaining knowledge about copyright, creative commons licensing, and proper citation when using images in your research, assignments, and projects. Recorded February 2022.

Access Digital Magazines through Flipster (~ 19 Minutes) Learn how to access, read, and search for popular magazine content through Flipster, a free online magazine platform available through the UC Merced Library. Recorded October, 2020.

Using UC Library Search (~ 9 Minutes) This workshop will teach you all about UC Library Search, the new system-wide library catalog and search tool now used by all ten UC campuses. This workshop will cover searching with UC Library Search, applying filters to a search, finding citation information, and Interlibrary loan. Recorded September 28, 2021.

Access The New York Times-Web Version (~18 Minutes) As a UC Merced affiliate, you have access to a free, online subscription to the New York Times web version. Learn how to set up your account, search articles, and set-up alerts. Recorded March 4, 2021

Introduction to JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments (~ 28 Minutes) Faculty and instructors are introduced to JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments. This brief overview demonstrates how to search subject areas for videos, textbooks, and full experiments to support undergraduate education through classroom experiments, LTI integration with CatCourses, and customizable quizzes. Recorded June 30, 2021

Blue banner with microphone image and title text of Special Programs

Experiences Using Wikipedia in the Classroom (1 Hour) Spring semester 2022, librarians collaborated with seven instructors to support student editing and creation of Wikipedia articles. As a result, approximately 160 students from nine courses contributed to Wikipedia. In this webinar, instructors and librarians will share the successes and challenges of their Wikipedia collaborations and reflect about future iterations of this work. Recorded May 10, 2022. 

Carter Joseph Abrescy and Larry Kranich Library Award for Student Research Excellence (~ 15 Minutes) Spring 2022 Award Reception featuring awardees, Madelyn Lara and Brandon Cooper. Recorded April 2022.

Library Award Info Session for Undergraduate Applicants - Spring 2022 (~ 20 Minutes) The Carter Joseph Abrescy and Larry Kranich Library Award for Student Research Excellence is open for undergraduate student applicants who meet basic eligibility requirements and can showcase their effective use of library resources in a recent project or assignment. Recorded December 7, 2021. 

Discussions with Filmmakers Series Presents: Holding Out- A Film by Rebecca Gourevitch (~ 1 Hour) UC Merced Project Archivist, Rebecca Gourevitch,  shows her film followed by a discussion about the 2016 documentary which follows struggling tenants on the cusp of eviction in areas of San Francisco. This film sheds light on the social and political struggles between landlords, tenants, and city hall. Recorded November 2021. 

Faculty Author Series

Faculty Author Series- Donald Barclay, Deputy University Librarian (~ 1 Hour) Deputy University Librarian, Donald Barclay discusses his most recent book, Disinformation: The Nature of Facts and Lies in the Post-Truth Era, which sheds light on abuses of truth from the past and present and how we can overcome the patterns of ignoring factual information- especially in a digital age. Recorded April 2022.

Faculty Author Series- Dr. Muey Saeteurn (History) (~ 1 Hour) Associate Professor of History, Dr. Muey Saeteurn discusses her recent book, "Cultivating Their Own: Agriculture in Western Kenya during the "Development" Era (Rochester Studies in African History and the Diaspora)", which chronicles the work and research into four agricultural projects in rural western Kenya during a time of great transition and why these development projects likely failed due to structural and political issues at a national and international level. Recorded March 2022. 

Faculty Author Series- Dr. Carolyn Jennings (Philosophy and Cognitive Sciences) (~ 1 Hour) Dr. Carolyn Jennings talks about her book, The Attending Mind, discussing her research into how science can help explain how the mind uses attention, or not, to experience and engage with the world around us. Dr. Jennings is an Associate Professor of Philosophy and Cognitive Sciences at University of California, Merced. Recorded March 2022.

Faculty Author Series- Dr. Michael Spivey (Cognitive & Information Sciences) (~ 1 Hour) Dr. Spivey talks about his recent book published by MIT Press --- Who You Are: The Science of Connectedness. Who You Are addresses all of the assumptions about the definition of self, centralizing around concepts of being more than just our brain and body, but rather how our outward experiences, environments, and objects come together to expand upon what it means to be a human. 

Faculty Author Series- Justin Gautreau (Merritt Writing Program) (~ 1 Hour) Merritt Writing Program lecturer Justin Gautreau discusses his recent book, The Last Word: The Hollywood Novel and the Studio System. The Last Word discusses Hollywood culture critique - in particular the fiction written by industry insiders to share what was considered unfilmable. While a unique perspective in the 1920s and 1930s, the Hollywood novel's relevance gradually declined in the years after. That said, the books remain a fascinating window into Hollywood and the public imagination. Recorded October 14, 2021.

Faculty Author Series- Dr. Sidra Goldman-Mellor (Public Health) (~ 1 Hour) Part of the Faculty Author Series, this presentation focuses on the work of UC Merced Associate Professor of Public Health, Dr. Sidra Goldman-Mellor. She discusses the affects of emergency department presentation and suicide and mortality amongst various populations in the U.S. and specifically, California. Recorded April 29, 2021.