Looking for U.S. Federal Data?

An archive of all CDC datasets uploaded to https://data.cdc.gov/browse before January 28th, 2025. Excludes corrupt datasets and data not publicly accessible.

GitHub repository - CDC Environmental Justice Index

What is Social Vulnerability? Every community must prepare for and respond to hazardous events, whether a natural disaster like a tornado or a disease outbreak, or an anthropogenic event such as a harmful chemical spill. The degree to which a community exhibits certain social conditions, including high poverty, low percentage of vehicle access, or crowded households, among others, may affect that community’s ability to prevent human suffering and financial loss in the event of a disaster. These factors describe a community’s social vulnerability.

Hosts copies of immunization schedules and contraceptive use guidance from the CDC

ACS NSQIP collects data on surgical outcomes from hospitals and surgical centers. It’s used to measure and improve the quality of surgical care, focusing on patient safety and reducing complications. The program also has a collection of quality improvement case studies.

The page includes several databases including hospitalinspections.org, which lists federal hospital inspection reports; hospitalfinances.org, which allows you to find nonprofit hospitals’ finance reports; and State Insurance Guide, which is created by the Georgetown University’s Center on Health Insurance Reforms, and has information on how insurance works in each state.

From NYU Langone Health, this platform provides 40+ measures of health and factors affecting health across five areas (Health Behaviors, Social and Economic Factors, Physical Environment, Health Outcomes, and Clinical Care) for 970+ cities across the U.S.

Congressional District Health Dashboard provides measures of health and its drivers at the congressional district level, showing how each district is doing on health outcomes, social and economic factors and other measures. The Dashboard was created at the Department of Population Health at NYU Grossman School of Medicine with the support of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. The group also manages the City Health Dashboard.

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps is a program of the University of Washington Population Health Institute. It produces annual data on the health of counties across the U.S., taking into account factors like premature death, low birthweight, adult smoking, obesity and sexually transmitted infections.

contains 46 demographic, energy, health, and housing indicators down to the tract-level with free access for community-based organizations; others require a subscription.

Harvard Dataverse is a large publicly-available repository of data from researchers at Harvard University and around the world, covering a range of topics from astronomy to engineering to health and medicine.

HCCI, an independent nonprofit research organization, provides data on health care spending, use and pricing from private health insurers. It is widely used to analyze trends in healthcare costs and access for commercially insured populations.

Based at the University of Washington, IHME is an independent health research organization, with collaborators around the world. It produces research on a range of topics, including air pollution, alcohol use, COVID-19, maternal health and vaccine coverage.

Formerly Kaiser Family Foundation, KFF is an independent source for health policy research, polling and news. It produces reports on a range of topics from COVID-19 to HIV/AIDS, Medicaid, Medicare, the Affordable Care Act and useful resources such as State Health Facts.

NCDB is a joint initiative of the American College of Surgeons and the American Cancer Society. It contains clinical and outcomes data from more than 1,500 accredited cancer programs, covering approximately 70% of newly diagnosed cancer cases in the U.S.

Funded by PCORI, an independent, nonprofit research funding organization, PCORnet, is a national patient-centered clinical research network, providing a health data, research expertise and patient insights.

Pew is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that conducts public opinion polls, demographic research, content analysis and other social science research. It does not take policy positions.

The nonprofit investigative news organization has several helpful datasets, including the Nonprofit Explorer allows you to browse millions of annual tax returns filed by tax-exempt organizations, including nonprofit hospitals. Nursing Home Compare and Nursing Home Inspect, which provides the latest CMS data on nursing homes in an easy-to-download format. Its Nursing Home Inspect website is interactive and searchable by nursing home, state or county. And Dollars for Docs allows users to search for industry payments to doctors, made from August 2013 to December 2018.

Rural Hospital Data, part of the National Rural Health Association, provides state reports on the impact of federal policies on health care providers and patients. The data shows the annual revenue loss and potential job loss for each care provider based on each policy.

Created by the nonprofit Commonwealth Fund, the Medicaid fact sheets include who and how many people are covered by state Medicaid and CHIP programs; Medicaid’s importance to health care in rural America; how many young people depend on Medicaid for access to behavioral health services; and how many federal Medicaid dollars each state receives.

UNOS is a nonprofit organization responsible for maintaining the national transplant waiting list, matching donors to recipients and overseeing organ allocation policies to ensure fairness and efficiency. The organization also provides educational resources for patients and professionals and conducts research.