The most frequently-used databases
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
1894 - present. A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
Provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, measurement conversions and more. For Chrome browser users, follow this link to troubleshoot a known issue.
Provides access to various reference sources, including dictionaries (Japanese, English and multi-languages), encyclopedias, other Japanese reference works (biographies, maps, chronologies, etc.), full text Toyo Bunko and Shukan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist), Kōbunsō Taika Koshomoku and other visual and sound databases.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included. As of 2024, also includes ARTstor.
Allows research across multiple National Archives resources, including archival descriptions, digitized and electronic records, and authority records.
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
1951 - present. Includes more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed facilitates searching across several NLM literature resources including MEDLINE, PubMed Central, and Bookshelf. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and Bookshelf. MEDLINE articles are indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Use Get it at UC to locate the full text when not otherwise available.
A database of chemical facts from 175 journals in organic chemistry, indexing three primary data domains: substances, reactions, and literature. Also includes organometallic and inorganic chemistry, covering literature from the year 1772 to today. Covers 1.6 million compounds, 1.3 million structures, 1.3 million reactions, and 900,000 citations, including titles and abstracts from 1995. Fully searchable by structures, substructures, and reactions.
(coverage varies according to journal title) Includes abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles from journals as well as a few book selections. Content includes the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.
1952 - present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
A collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia via CRL in partnership with JSTOR. Over 350,000 pages of historical and contemporary content in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, in English and a variety of South Asian languages.
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Access to dictionaries, linguistic field notes and audio and video recordings of various different Alaska Native Languages. Via the University of Alaska, Fairbanks.
Access to over 11,000 photographic images from around the Middle East and North Africa. Via NYU Abu Dhabi.
Access to documents created by federal agencies' interactions with North American Native populations from as early as 1774 through the mid-1990s at National Archives locations throughout the US. Records are organized by topics, tribe, and federal agency.
Provides bibliographic data, plus full text and multimedia of psychological tests from the early 1900s to the present.
Grants access to over 7 million records describing archival materials on historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more, with over 1,400 archival institutions represented,
1942 - 1964. Access to oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative where millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border to work in more than half of the states in America.
Access to resources and tools to assist with and understand community engaged research.
Access to primary source materials focused on the mass incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II, but also related to the history and progress of Japanese Americans in their communities throughout the 20th century. Via the 23-campus California State University system archives, and other, similar collections across the state.
Access to the digitized collections of Keio University Libraries, including Japanese historical manuscripts (Komonjo), Japanese medical books, natural history, and Chinses classics. Available in both Japanese and English.
A collection of items related to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, pre-genocide history in Rwanda and post-genocide reconstruction processes.
A collection aiming to preserve ephemera materials worldwide .Currently contains UCLA’s collections with content from Cuba, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, and South Africa ranging from early 20th century newspapers to posters, postcards, cellphone videos, and more.
Allows UC authors to search for a journal title to determine if there is full open access fee coverage or a discount.
Allows research across multiple National Archives resources, including archival descriptions, digitized and electronic records, and authority records.
Access to millions of historical documents created and collected by UK central government departments and major courts of law.
Access to historical newsletters and past administration work of the largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities. Searchable by tribe, keyword, newsletter and resolution.
Access to UC Merced's digital collections of rare or unique materials that focus largely on the varied histories of the San Joaquin Valley and Sierra Nevada regions, on the research and scholarly interests of the UC Merced academic community, and our ongoing University of California Cooperative Extension Archive project.
Provides access to over 550 humanities and social science books from several university presses with full open access.
Provides access to the digitized content of the archives of the American University in Cairo, focused on arts, culture, history and society of Egypt and the Middle East.
Access to one of the largest oral history archives in the South and one of the top collections in the country. Contains more than 900 interviews with Native Americans including Seminoles, Cherokees, and Creeks. Other major holdings include the Joel Buchanan Archive of African American Oral History, Civil Rights action in St. Augustine (1964), and the University of Florida. Over 100 oral histories from the Matheson Museum are included.
Documents the social, cultural, religious, political, and economic life of members of the Cambodian, Hmong, Laotian, and Vietnamese diaspora. Includes Southeast Asian American experiences of resettlement and community formations since the Vietnam War, Cambodian Genocide, and geopolitical turmoil in the former French-occupied "Indochina" in the latter half of the 20th century. Via UC Irvine.
A collection of 165 interviews with 1700 pages of accompanying transcripts and indices documenting Chinese American history and experience in the greater Los Angeles area mainly prior to World War Two. Jointly sponsored by the UCLA Asian American Studies Center (AASC) and the Chinese Historical Society of Southern California.
1775 - 1915. Access to records of tobacco and cotton plantations in North Carolina and Virginia as well as Tennessee, Kentucky, and Alabama. The lives of enslaved people are documented via extensive lists of enslaved people, purchase of and sale agreements, plantation diaries, account books, correspondence, and financial and legal papers.
Access to a repository of Mexican and Mexican American popular and vernacular recordings containing over 100,000 recordings. Via UCLA.
Browse, download, or purchase current and historical topographic maps of the United States.
Provides access to resources regarding Utah’s Indian tribes, including articles, government documents, tribal documents, oral histories, photographs, and maps pertaining to the Northwestern Shoshone, Goshute, Paiute, Utah Navajo, White Mesa, and Ute Indians.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.