Start with our Chatbot. If it can't help, you'll have the option to be connected with a Librarian.
Get it at UC connects you from a source citation to the resource.
You will be taken to UC Library Search where you can navigate to the full-text of the source OR initiate a request for the source through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
The Get it at UC button will appear in many library databases. Use it to more easily locate or request the resources you need!
Databases are powerful search tools that contain scholarly journals and articles plus much more! Here are some benefits of choosing a database over a library catalog or search engine like Google:
Many, if not most, of the databases you'll search for this project have powerful search features:
For a known database, search the title in the dropdown menu:
If you don't know the database you want, go to the A-Z Databases page and filter by Subject or search using a keyword.
In order to teach you about databases in general, we're going to use one database in particular: Academic Search Complete, the most popular database at UC Merced and many college and university libraries around the country.
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Other popular general databases include:
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included. As of 2024, also includes ARTstor.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).
The databases listed below have a Thesaurus or Subject Terms search option. You can also search by keyword, by the name of an artist, or the title of an artwork.
Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, Film Index International indexes entertainment films from over 170 countries. Includes information on films, personalities and scholarly works related to film studies.
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Strong international coverage from periodicals published English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Previously Art Source (EBSCO).
1974 - present. Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition review on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Entries date back as far as the late 1960's.
1973 - present. Provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship for European art from late antiquity to present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Also includes coverage of painting, sculpture, drawing, folk art, antiques and other visual art in all media. Previously Bibliography of the History of Art.
Check out this brief video (4:54) from Yavapai Community College to learn about using AND, OR, and NOT in your database searches.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
