LibGuides: Spark 001: Central Valley Stories (Trook): Local News and Information

Local News

Many of these news sources require users to be on the campus network for access.

Local Education

UC Merced
The University of California, Merced is 10th campus in the University of California system.
UC Merced News
from 2001 forward
UC Merced History
overview of campus beginnings
Merced Community College
The local community college has been providing higher education to Merced County for over 40 years.
Merced City School District
The local elementary school district for the City of Merced.
Merced Union High School District
The local high school district for Merced County.

Information and Services

Merced County
The official government site of Merced County, with information and links to numerous services available. Includes link to the County Budget.
City of Merced
The official site of the City of Merced. Includes link to the city's newsletters.
National Park Service, Yosemite
As the "Gateway to Yosemite," Merced has a special relationship with Yosemite National Park. The National Park Service site has information about visiting the park.
Merced County Library
As the major public library in Merced County it provides numerous services, classes, and community events.
Merced County QuickFacts from US Census Bureau
Common demographics about Merced County from the US Census Bureau.
Merced City QuickFacts from US Census Bureau
Common demographics about the City of Merced from the US Census Bureau.

California Quick Facts This link opens in a new window
Census links to California data from 2010 census population data, the latest Economic Census, County Business Patterns and other reports.
Statewide Database: The Redistricting Database for the State of California This link opens in a new window
Includes voting, registration and geographic data sets for the State of California for statewide elections beginning in 1992. Provided by UC Berkeley Law Center for Research.

Culture & History

Merced Visitor Service
This site features a calendar of community events as well as information on various local attractions.
Merced County Courthouse Museum Collections Information
The Merced Courthouse Museum has collections that are accessible by the public.
Merced County Courthouse Museum on Facebook
The Facebook page for the Merced County Courthouse Museum, featuring numerous photos and information about the museum's displays.
Multicultural Arts Center
information about performances, exhibits, and classes
Playhouse Merced
local theatre with box office information and conservatory classes schedule

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444