LibGuides: Spark 001: Central Valley Stories (Trook): Health and Data / Statistics

Online Sources of California Health Data

City Health Dashboard
provides an array of regularly updated data specific to neighborhood and/or city boundaries – such as life expectancy, obesity, and children in poverty -- to improve the health and well-being of everyone in the community. From NYU Langone Health.
Central Valley Health Policy Institute (Fresno State)
Explore Publications and Data & Infographics for more
California Department of Public Health (Infectious Disease Branch)
The CA Department of Public Health Surveillance and Statistics Section collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates data from local health jurisdictions on over 60 reportable communicable diseases.
State Health Facts: California (Kaiser Family Foundation)
State Health Facts is comprised of more than 800 health indicators and provides users with the ability to map, rank, trend, and download data. Data come from a variety of public and private sources, including KFF reports, public websites, government surveys and reports, and private organizations.

Medical/Health Databases

Some of these databases don't have Subject Terms lists or a Thesaurus. Keyword searchers will suffice.

PubMed
1951 - present. Includes more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed facilitates searching across several NLM literature resources including MEDLINE, PubMed Central, and Bookshelf. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and Bookshelf. MEDLINE articles are indexed with MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Use Get it at UC to locate the full text when not otherwise available.
Medline Plus
Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health. Provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues and links to medical research and information about clinical trials.
ArticleFirst
1990 - present.Citations from the table of contents pages of over 11,000 journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444

Spark 001: Central Valley Stories (Trook)