Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
Provides access to a full-text database of over 15,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, and selected reference works. Access Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One from the top left waffle menu.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 major U.S. and International newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Nearly 9,000 business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also, company profiles and company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting.
Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Photographs, audio sound bites, and graphics from the Associated Press (AP). The collection includes 12 million photographs from 1826 forward.
When members of the community participate in gathering, reporting and sharing the kind of information that we would expect from traditional news outlets.
You've probably seen examples of this in your own life. Individuals at the scene of an event reporting out what is happening, typically from their point of view using social media. This information can be in-line with or contradicting traditional media outlets. An example of this is the Arab Spring in 2011 where coverage of protests and demonstrations was prominent on Twitter.
Social media content can sometimes be more difficult to verify than other news sources but you can still use the SIFT method and determine whether or not you find the information credible.
We'll include some additional videos below about bias and evaluating online content.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
