History 108R (Saeteurn)

A collection of documents pertaining to the Afro-Asian Conference in Bandung, Indonesia in April 1955. Representatives from 29 newly independent African, Asian and Middle Eastern countries attended.

This collection features Chinese documents related to economic and cultural relationships with several African countries during the Mao period, especially in the 1960s.

Documents focused on China’s relations with Egypt and Algeria, primary during the Mao Period. Includes are records of conversations between Chinese leaders and prominent leaders from the Middle East and North Africa regions.

Includes documents from Europe and the U.S. that point to political, economic and military issues the Soviet Union experienced during the Cold War with Somali and Ethiopia and its various allies.

Includes a section on Decolonization with materials focused on the 1960s. Includes both secondary materials (e.g. introductory notes) and primary materials (video, audio, photos).

Records from diplomatic conferences convened by the United Nations to negotiate and adopt treaties. Proceedings from these conferences are searchable in full-text format.

United National documents and publications include voting data, speeches, images/sounds, and maps. Items available digitally are from 1979 forward. Search results can be filtered by resource type, UN Body, and date.

This project site includes a section titled “African Decolonization” with an essay and a limited number of images. This project was funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. NOTE: Requires Flash and not being maintained.

An online collection of 10,000+ primary sources including audio & video recordings, pamphlets, newsletters, buttons, posters, photographs, interviews, leaflets and T-shirts. Items record the U.S. African solidarity movement to support African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustices form the 1950s through the 1990s. Geographic foci includes Angola, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. Michigan State University sponsors this project with co-sponsors including MSU’s African Studies Center, the MATRIX: The Center for Humane Arts, Letters and Social Sciences Online.

Digital materials from and about African countries and communities including photographs, videos, archival documents, maps, interviews and oral histories in many languages. It is intended to provide understanding of African people’s lives, histories, and cultures. The collection has grown out of partnership agreements between Michigan State University and international heritage institutions.

A collection of primary and secondary resources including images and sound recordings. Some three-dimensional objectives, moving images, and texts are available. Many images are of places and landscapes. Metadata may be limited, and audio does not appear to be transcribed or translated. Click “Browse Collection” to get started.

Founded by John H. Johnson in the early 1940s. This link leads to the Google Books archive with access to full-text content from 1961-1976.

Maintains a list and links to some primary source related to African and decolonization.

The collection contains materials collected by Ronald H. Chilcote while conducting research for his book, Emerging Nationalism in Portuguese Africa. The majority of the materials originated from nationalist organizations in Angola and Mozambique. Click “Browse This Collection” to view digitized materials.

A limited number of eyewitness reports. Some additional materials related to the Sharpeville Massacre are available.

This unit from Visualizing Portugal: The New State (1933-1974) links to a limited number of visual narratives, texts, and videos related to Portugal and the demand for independence from its African territories.

These downloadable volumes presented the official historic record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and diplomatic activity. There are more than 450 volumes available from 1861 forward. Editors of these volumes selected documentation from a variety of government agencies as well as from private papers of those involved in U.S. foreign policy. Use Control F (or Cmd F) to locate Africa titles for desired years.

A collection of testimonies, audio and video materials, photographs, physical objects, documents & publications and interactive mapping data related to the 1995 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda. The collection also includes pre- and post-genocide history.

Online visual materials include photographs from Angola, Mozambique, Guinea Bissau, Cabo Verdes, 1974-1981 (The African Travels of Frits Eisenloeffel) and posters from Mozambique. Consider using search terms such as independence, solidarity, or nationalism with a location/country.

This site includes transcribed interviews with individuals from Nordic nations who were involved in South African liberation struggles. Some audio and visual materials is included. The site also links out to archives in Sweden, Norway, Finland, Denmark and Iceland with materials related to this subject.

This resource centre includes First’s work; Ruth First was an anti-Apartheid activist and scholar. More broadly, this site supports the study of South Africa and south Africa.

This digital archive provides public access to the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) video and accompanying transcripts and documentation from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) starting in 1996. In post-apartheid South Africa, a Truth and Reconciliation Commission heard confessions and conducted criminal investigations of human rights abuses to determine who could be awarded amnesty. The South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) broadcasted video and radio reviews of each week's proceedings.

Includes a number of digitized collections from the 16th century through the 20th century including interviews, posters, maps, short stories and images. View available digitized collections.

These posters represent a sample (~600) of a collection of over 4000 Africana posters housed at the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies. The subjects covered here include politics, health, religion, liberation struggles, art exhibitions, and social issues. (Northwestern Univ.)

The Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860-1960 documents the African colonial era to the dawn of independence. The collection portrays both African life and European life in Africa. It chronicles the daily experience of colonial residents: how they traveled, the lives they created for themselves, their social activities, and their early interaction with the rest of Africa. NOTE: time period (Northwestern Univ.)

Access to 80 electronic version of books published as part of a Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Texts were written for a general audience by a team of social scientists adhering to scholarly objectivity standards. The series includes a number of titles of African countries. See location filters. Those these books are secondary sources; titles often include maps and images. Bibliographies may be useful. Sample: Uganda: a Country Study.

Photographs from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office spanning 100+ years of African history starting in the 1860s. Images are viewable at Flickr.

The cabinet papers detail the role of the British Cabinet in history including Cabinet Conclusions and Memoranda. Papers are themed. Look for appropriate categories within a theme. Sometimes search terms are suggested and link to The National Archive catalog. The site often provides useful definitions and some further reading suggestions.

A collection of digitized manuscripts, photographs, sound recordings, newspapers, and periodicals. Most content is from the 1950s and earlier. Researchers can filter by places which include some African countries.

An online catalog of primary materials including estate papers, diaries, photographs, and India Office Records available from the British Library. After completing a search, consider using “Creation Date” and “Institution” filters. Some materials are available in digital format while many are not. Use “I want this” to determine availability.

AFRINUL is a directory of African Newspapers published in sub-Saharan Africa. Search for terms such as a newspaper title or a city. Currently, newspapers would need to be ordered through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) services. Full-text is not available online.

CAMP’s microform and digital collections include a number of newspapers from African countries. Some projects are still in process.

Includes newspapers from Africa. Most are located on microform but can be requested through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Scans of maps from the University of Florida’s Map and Imagery Library. Maps date back to the 16th century but there are some maps from the 20th and 21st centuries.

Included are digitized transcripts of interviews Gwendolen Carter conducted with individuals related to the South African liberation struggle. As a professor Carter specialized in African affairs, especially southern Africa.

Vol. I, No. 4 (Accra: 1959), pp. 1-2. Located at Internet History Sourcebooks Project (Fordham University)

The Sourcebooks includes excerpts from public domain and copy-permitted texts. It is intended for introductory level classes. When reading an excerpt, look for the original source. Recommendation: look at links in the “Decolonization” section. Not all links may be active.

Fifteenth Session, Supplement No. 16, pp. 66-67. Located at Located at Internet History Sourcebooks Project (Fordham University)

The Sourcebooks includes excerpts from public domain and copy-permitted texts. It is intended for introductory level classes. When reading an excerpt, look for the original source.

A website incorporating Getty photographs which illustrate the racism of Apartheid.

A website including Getty Images related to the Anti-Apartheid Movement.

Brings together newspapers clippings and some additional resources related to Mozambique’s contemporary history. Materials are arranged by themes and many are in Portuguese. Note that though this site links to primary materials, there is also commentary.