Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

History 108R (Saeteurn): Pre-Activities

Decolonizing Africa

Pre-Activities

Prior to the library session for HIST 108R, please complete the following:

1) Ensure that you have downloaded and are able to successfully connect to the Virtual Private Network (VPN).  OIT launched a new VPN this past spring. The former VPN will be retired.

2) Watch the "Requesting a Full-Text Article through UC-eLinks" video (1:34) for an introduction or refresher of how to Request an article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  It is very likely that you will want to Request one or more articles/books for your project.

Access Library Resources from Off Campus

The VPN allows you to connect to the library's online articles and eBooks from off campus.

Visit library.ucmerced.edu/use/technology/vpn to download the VPN.

VPN

*Image courtesy of Design Services, UCI Libraries

Requesting a Full-Text Article through UC-eLinks

Have an article you want to read that isn't available in full-text through the library databases? Learn how to request the full-text of articles through UC-eLinks (UC Merced Library, 1:34).

Accessing Full Text

First Option: Look for PDFs or HTML documents in a database.

Second Option: Look for the UC-eLinks button. UC-eLInks will look for full-text elsewhere.

If UC Merced does not have a copy, use "Request this item ..." link in the UC-eLinks window to Interlibrary Loan. Your library card/account number is your UCMnetID e.g. sdavidson2.

More info about Interlibrary Loan (ILL).