History 108R (Saeteurn)

An index for material on Africa from the 19th century to the present. Topics range from politics and law to anthropology and music. It points to various formats including books, journal articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, report, theses, and music recording.

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use America: History and Life.

Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.

Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues.  Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included. As of 2024, also includes ARTstor.

A digital repository of collections from research libraries including some full-text views. This search defaults to searching full view texts. Download books and create collections using your UCMnetID.

Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The objectives of WDL include intercultural understanding and partnerships as well as providing resources for educators and scholars.