Undergraduate Research Programs - Humanities: History

Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers. Emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.

1690 - 1900. Full text of historical American newspapers from all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Searchable via Readexs Archive of Americana interface. Includes Early American Newspapers series 1 (1690-1876) and 2 (1758-1900) and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808 - 1980.

This comprehensive international database includes research on United States and Canadian history for all periods from prehistory to the current decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and Ph.D dissertations. Draws upon over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

1740 - 1940. Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Access is available to the American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries collection.

Includes over 150,000 digitized pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1849-1911. They include the Alta California (1849-1889); the San Francisco Call (1900-1910); the Amador Ledger (1900-1911); the Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911); and the Los Angeles Herald (1905-1907).

Provides access to many California newspapers of historical significance dating as far back as 1849. Newspapers from San Francisco, Sacramento, San Jose, Stockton and Benicia are included.

A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.

Full-text versions of scholarly journals and books from university presses and scholarly societies. Focused on the humanities and social sciences.