Search for background information, using general reference resources:
To change the language, use the selection drop-down in the upper right corner of any Credo page.
The results will primarily be in English, but the search is supported in several languages.
Check out this short video (2:23) from Suffolk County Community College Library to understand how primary, secondary, and tertiary sources vary by discipline.
Step 2 of the research process often involves finding an overview of a topic, checking facts and data, checking dates of significant events, or looking up definitions of specialized terms. 
Like the roots of a tree, background information is not always visible but it does play an important role in your research. While Google can be helpful in this regard, you may find some of the UC Merced Reference Databases useful for definitions and background information. Spending time on this step of the process can help give you valuable context that will help you with other steps like searching for research and writing about your topic.
Tip: Background information is often called "reference information" in libraries and library databases.
Información de Referencia or background information helps give context to a research question. For example, in this song we hear a lyric about "La Vírgen de los Dolores," and you may want to look up more information about whether there is a local patron saint icon in Venezuela that has this name and where it is located. This information would be considered context or background information for helping you and others to understand the song and its lyrics better.
This embedded song is from our library subscription resource, Music & Performing Arts (Alexander Street Press). To listen, you must be connected through the UC Merced VPN.
Cross-search hundreds of thousands of audio tracks, scores, and reference works across many Alexander Street Press music databases including African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Garland Encyclopedia of Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound.
Includes contemporary and historical documents depicting the nature, integrity and culture of Latin America. Documents are in multiple languages. Includes historical and contemporary maps.
Provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, measurement conversions and more. For Chrome browser users, follow this link to troubleshoot a known issue.
Provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, measurement conversions and more. For Chrome browser users, follow this link to troubleshoot a known issue.
Access to 25 peer-reviewed, up-to-date encyclopedias spanning a variety of disciplines, including Social Work and Classics.
This reference collection of almost 900 titles includes books from 30 Sci-Tech publishers. The main subject areas include Engineering, Life Sciences & Chemistry, and Materials. All titles are available in full-text and are searchable. Additional features include interactive tables, equation plotters and graph digitizers.
CQ Researcher offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. Covers topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
An eBook collection from a variety of academic subject areas. View titles online. Login to use personalized tools such as the bookshelf and highlighting.
Full-text versions of scholarly journals and books from university presses and scholarly societies. Focused on the humanities and social sciences.
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
In addition to being a great place to start exploring an unfamiliar topic, Wikipedia is considered a tertiary source. Writers of tertiary sources synthesize information from secondary sources and strive to report them in a tone that is as unbiased and neutral as possible.
Some tertiary sources are cited in academic research and others are not. This practice varies by discipline so contact your instructor or a librarian with questions!
What is considered background information 
and whether to cite it can vary by discipline. If you're not sure what it is or where to find it, check out this YouTube video on primary, secondary, and tertiary sources from Suffolk County Library.
Are you citing background information in your research paper/project? You can always check with your instructor to see if that is acceptable for the assignment or within your discipline/major.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
