Access to a broad number of Spanish language newspapers from around the world, some with coverage beginning from 1982. Searchable by keyword, date, headline, author/byline and more.
1991 - present. Index of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.
Includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History. Full text access to U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Nearly 9,000 business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also, company profiles and company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting.
1808 - 1980. A collection of Spanish-language and Spanish/English newspapers printed in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage begins in 1808 with the first Spanish-language newspaper printed in the U.S.
LADB is a news and information service on Latin America which produces three weekly electronic publications: NotiCen, NotiSur, and SourceMex. Includes over 28,000 articles from a variety of Latin American news sources and journals.
1985 - present. LA Times news stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.
Provides access to a full-text database of over 15,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, and selected reference works. Access Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One from the top left waffle menu.
In Venezuela, the ability for people to access news on the internet has worsened since 2019 in the wake of the the economic and political crises, according to this report from VE Sin Filtro. Along with OONI and IPYS Venezuela, VE Sin Filtro has documented significant media blocks in 2018, adding to a list of websites and IP addresses that were previously blocked. (Source: "'Venezuelans Are Starving for Information.' The Battle to Get News in a Country in Chaos" from Time.com).
Some of the resources recommended below are from the Purdue University Diplomacy Lab: Recommended News Sources, but some of the sites listed on the page are no longer available.
With any information, free or not, library subscription-based or not, you should always evaluate the information for credibility. See the Step 4 page, Leer y Evaluar, for more help.
One source of English translations of international news is BBC Monitoring: International Reports, which can be searched via Nexis Uni. BBC Monitoring translates and analyzes news and information from freely available media sources around the world, covering TV, radio, press, internet and news agencies in 100 different languages from 150 countries.
To search:
You can type in some keywords in the middle search box before you click on the search button to the right, and/or you can limit your search results and search within the results.
Provides access to a full-text database of over 15,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, and selected reference works. Access Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One from the top left waffle menu.
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) was run by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency from 1941-2004. Since the 1940s, FBIS monitored, translated, and republished selected foreign radio and television broadcasts, newspaper articles, government news agency releases, and political speeches. FBIS primary users - US government officials - determined which stories are included, so political, military, economic, and environmental topics are the major emphases. The translations were published as quickly as possible--usually within a few days of original publication--in a series of daily reports. In 2004, FBIS became the Open Source Center.
In 1996, FBIS became available online through the World News Connection database, maintained by NTIS (National Technical Information Service.) However, as of 2014, the Open Source Center stopped sending these translations to NTIS and the World News Connection database ceased to exist, except as an archival collection (which the UC Merced does not own). The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) operates a similar service, and the CIA and BBC Monitoring cooperate to share information and divide regional responsibilities. You can get the BBC Monitoring Reports through the database Nexis Uni (see above).
For more information on the scope, history, and use of open source intelligence by the US and UK, see: Leetaru, K. "The Scope of FBIS and BBC Open Source Media Coverage, 1979-2008" Studies in Intelligence (54)1: 17-37
1941 - 1996. Provides access to translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, in addition to official news sources and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
