Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Library Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Writing About Writing (WAW) for WRI 1/10

Library resources and perspectives for Writing about Writing (WAW)

Getting to Full-Text

CompPile includes citations for journal articles, books chapters, interviews, doctoral dissertations and more.  Some of these citations have links to full text links but many do not nor does CompPile include the UC-eLinks for locating full-text.

View this screenshot for a sample of the types of resources you might find in CompPile, or visit this sample set of search results.

screenshot from CompPile results

Recommendations for Locating Full-Text:

If the item is a journal article, paste the article title into Google Scholar.

If the item is a book or book chapter, paste the book title into Melvyl.

See the tabs above for more information on using Google Scholar and Melvyl.

Google Scholar Logo

 

 

  1. Paste the title of this article into Google Scholar.  Writing Beyond the Page: Reflective Essay as Box Composition
  2. Search.
  3. Click on the title or link to the right of the article to see if you can obtain full-text.
  4. Ensure that you are connected to the VPN.

 

This video also covers how you can find a specific article in Google Scholar of Melvyl.  (1:59)

Use Melvyl, the library's catalog, to search for book titles you have found in CompPile.

Use Melvyl to find eBooks, print books, as well as articles and other materials (UC Merced Library, 1:58).

Though our library has access to thousands of articles and books, you may find that you need to request an article or book through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  Note: For fall 2020, only article requests are available. Unfortunately requesting books is not available.

Watch the following videos for an understanding of UC-eLinks  and how you can request items through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Need full-text? Use the UCe-Links button to connect to articles. Length (2:32)

 

 

Have an article you want to read that isn't available in full-text through the library databases? Learn how to request the full-text of articles through UC-eLinks (UC Merced Library, 1:34).