Sociology 191: Senior Capstone (Whitt)

This guide includes resources to support your Capstone course for Sociology. The them of the course focuses on US undergraduates and their success. This page contains some pre-work inckuding a link to the "Using Sociological Abstracts" tutorial and information about downloading and installing the campus VPN.

Please begin by completing the tutorial below before class on Thursday, February 1. 

Thanks!

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me, your librarian.

Using Sociological Abstracts Tutorial

Click on the image below or the link at the bottom of this section to be taken to the tutorial start screen.

Objectives

Through this tutorial you will learn how to:

• access Sociological Abstracts

• construct a search

• apply useful database limiters

• access full-text of articles

• generate citations in ASA format

Direct Link to Tutorial

Instructions

1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus.  You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.

2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial.  Enter your email address AND your professor's email address. Afterwards locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there.  It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Results for Using Sociological Abstracts" to find your email confirmation.

3. You are ready! Click on the link above to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen.

Ensure that you have set-up your VPN connection in order to access library resources from off-campus location.