Chinese

A bibliographic and full-text database for a wide assortment of journals from China. UC has access to the journals in Series F: Literature/History/Philosophy, Series G: Economics/Politics/Law, Series H: Education/Social Science and Series J: Economics/Management.

A large collection of e-books, major newspapers, reference titles, art images, and statistical data covering Chinese studies. Full-text searchable.

1984 - current. Access to 450,000 dissertations and 4.5 million theses from China representing 500 PhD-granting institutions and 775 masters granting institutions and made available on the China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI) platform. May be temporarily unavailable due to China's regulatory authority audit.

Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Covers 98.5% of core journals in China. Covers business, economics, arts, humanities, law, politics, social sciences, health, medicine, biology, agriculture and technology.

Full-text access to over 700,000 Chinese e-book titles in 22 major subject areas, with an emphasis on the social sciences and humanities.

Access to a comprehensive database of pre-20th century texts with full-text and images in four sections: Philosophy and Science, History and Geography, Art and Literature, and General Works.  

A digitized collection of rare Chinese titles produced before 1796, some dating as far back at the 10th century and the only surviving copy worldwide. Includes books, manuscripts, Buddhist sutras, works with hand-painted pictures, local gazetteers and ancient maps. Via the Library of Congress.

The Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China. Includes most classics of Chinese literature and culture from ancient China through the Qing Dynasty.

Brings together 292 digitized newspapers from China, chronicling events from the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic. Open access via the Center for Research Libraries.

1833 - present. Contains over 25 million entries from about 16 thousand newspapers and periodicals from mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, with a yearly update of 3.5 million entries.

Full-text database and census analysis system. Includes census data from 1949 - 2010 and covers gender, age, nationality, permanent residence registration, education level, industry, occupation, social security, marriage, fertility, death, and housing. Note: this title may be temporarily unavailable due to China's regulatory authority audit.

1832 - 1953. Access to 22 digitized Chinese newspapers pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons and more.

1903 - present. Access to digitized newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons and more.

A collection of 165 interviews with 1700 pages of accompanying transcripts and indices documenting Chinese American history and experience in the greater Los Angeles area mainly prior to World War Two. Jointly sponsored by the UCLA Asian American Studies Center (AASC) and the Chinese Historical Society of Southern California. 

Wanfang Data provides access to data relating to culture, medicine, business, science, and more. Includes access to the following collections only: Policies and Laws of China, Chinese Companies and Products, Dissertations of China, China Academic Conference Proceedings, China Online Journals.