Research Methods Tutorials: Introductions to Quantitative and Qualitative Methods

Watch this 5:16 video from Scribbr to learn about data collection methods.

Types of Studies

This is a list of definitions of types of studies. Use the databases (linked below) to find studies of that type in library databases and other resources.

Note: although filters, limits, subjects, and other database options will help you focus your results to certain study types, rely on your own judgment. Our databases are not infallible and it's important to confirm, as you're reading, that the material you've retrieved meets your criteria. 

• Case Study:  An approach that uses in-depth investigation of one or more examples of a current social phenomenon, utilizing a variety of sources of data. A ‘case’ can be an individual person, an event, or a social activity, group, organization or institution.

• Cohort Study: A study design where one or more samples (called cohorts) are followed prospectively and subsequent status evaluations with respect to a disease or outcome are conducted to determine which initial participants exposure characteristics (risk factors) are associated with it. As the study is conducted, outcome from participants in each cohort is measured and relationships with specific characteristics determined.

• Randomized Control Trial (RCT): A study design that randomly assigns participants into an experimental group or a control group. As the study is conducted, the only expected difference between the control and experimental groups in a randomized controlled trial (RCT) is the outcome variable being studied.

• Systematic Review: A document often written by a panel that provides a comprehensive review of all relevant studies on a particular clinical or health-related topic/question. The systematic review is created after reviewing and combining all the information from both published and unpublished studies (focusing on clinical trials of similar treatments) and then summarizing the findings.

• Meta-Analysis: A subset of systematic reviews; a method for systematically combining pertinent qualitative and quantitative study data from several selected studies to develop a single conclusion that has greater statistical power. This conclusion is statistically stronger than the analysis of any single study, due to increased numbers of subjects, greater diversity among subjects, or accumulated effects and results.

Databases to Search for Study Types

Contact a librarian for help searching these databases using applicable filters, limits, subjects, etc.

Please visit our online guide about Systematic Reviews to learn more: