Watch this 4:41 video from YouTube user NurseKillam "How to write a central question for a qualitative research study, thesis, publication and proposal" to learn about writing a central question for a qualitative research study, thesis, publication and proposal. The population of nursing students is used in this video.
Pay attention to the discussion of choosing a congruent (or appropriate) method for your research question. What purpose does drafting several questions serve?
Need more help? Try this 8:20 video from YouTube user Chelsea Seaburn / Smart Student on How to write a STRONG research question for research papers.
Designing Qualitative Research by
This concise introduction to qualitative research design will help you to think through the questions you need to ask when embarking on your research. Uwe Flick discusses each stage of the process of designing qualitative research,from turning an idea into a research question, selecting a sample, choosing an appropriate strategy, developing a conceptual framework and data source, and preparing for data collecting and analysis. This book can be used alongside other titles in the SAGE Qualitative Research Kit but can equally be used on its own. It is an invaluable companion to students and scholars embarking on research in in the social sciences, health, business and education.
Doing Qualitative Research in Education Settings by 
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design: Choosing Among Five Approaches by
Winner of the 2018 Textbook & Academic Authors Association′s The McGuffey Longevity AwardIn the revised Fourth Edition of the best-selling text, John W. Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N. Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Preserving Creswell′s signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. Featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the Fourth Editionis an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry.
The Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. In taking an interdisciplinary approach, these two volumes target a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more—all without overwhelming the informed reader. - Publisher Description
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Analysis by
The wide range of approaches to data analysis in qualitative research can seem daunting even for experienced researchers. This handbook is the first to provide a state-of-the art overview of the whole field of QDA; from general analytic strategies used in qualitative research, to approaches specific to particular types of qualitative data, including talk, text, sounds, images and virtual data. The handbook includes chapters on traditional analytic strategies such as grounded theory, content analysis, hermeneutics, phenomenology and narrative analysis, as well as coverage of newer trends like mixed methods, reanalysis and meta-analysis. Practical aspects such as sampling, transcription, working collaboratively, writing and implementation are given close attention, as are theory and theorization, reflexivity, and ethics. Written by a team of experts in qualitative research from around the world, this handbook is an essential compendium for all qualitative researchers and students across the social sciences.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
