The Ethnicity of Refugees (ER) dataset records the ethnic composition of refugee populations worldwide for the years 1975 to 2021. The dataset covers all refugee groups in neighboring countries and countries in proximity to each other that consist of at least 2’000 refugees. Up to the three largest ethnic groups of each country-dyadic refugee population are identified and their share of the total refugee stock indicated.
Access to OPR data and publications; recent projects include Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study, Mexican Migration Project, Highly Skilled and Educated Immigrants Project, and New Immigrant Survey.
One of the oldest research libraries specializing in international law. Research guides includes topics such as human rights, settlement of international disputes, criminal law, and many more subjects.
The dataset contains annual data on the flows of international migrants as recorded by the countries of destination. The data presents both inflows and outflows according to the place of birth, citizenship or place of previous / next residence both for foreigners and nationals. Data available from 45 countries, 1980+, in Excel.
Counter Trafficking Data Collaborative provides an anonymized, individual level dataset on victims of trafficking, 2002-present, which codes for age, gender, type of exploitation, means of control, and recruiter type.
Includes the International Migration Database and labor market outcomes of immigrants. Flows and stocks of the total immigrant population and immigrant labor force in OECD countries, together with data on acquisition of nationality, 1975+. Downloadable to .csv.
Contains data about UNHCR's populations of concern from 1951-2014. Can filter by location of residence, origin, and status (refugees, asylum seekers, internally displaced persons (IDPs), returned refugees, returned IDPs, stateless people). Data downloadable in .csv.
Measures the restrictiveness of immigration policy for low-skill immigration in 19 countries from the 19th century through to today. The measure is comparable across countries and across time. In addition, the sub-measures used to create the immigration policy variables are included as well.
Captures trends in immigration selection policy, naturalization policy, illegal immigration policy and bilateral agreements across 20 OECD countries, across time. Pilot data covering 10 years and 9 countries will soon be available.
A yearly study of Mexican migrants that randomly samples households in communities throughout Mexico. After gathering social, demographic, and economic information on the household and its members, interviewers collect basic information on each person's first and last trip to the United States. From household heads, they compile a year-by-year history of United States migration and collect information about the last trip northward, focusing on employment, earnings, and use of United States social services. More than 25,000 households have been interviewed across 24 states in Mexico, with individual-level data on more than 160,000 people.
Aims to advance our understanding of the complex processes of international migration and immigration to the United States through surveys of migrant households. LAMP employs the ethnosurvey approach, which combines the tecniques of ethnographic fieldwork and representative survey sampling to gather qualitative as well as quantitative data. Countries covered include Puerto Rico, Colombia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Haiti, Peru, Guatemala, and Ecuador. Data in SAS, SPSS, and Stata.
Collected data on migration flows between Sub-Saharan Africa and Europe. MAFE conducted household surveys in the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana and Senegal, as well as individual biographical questionnaires in Africa (DR Congo, Ghana, Senegal) and in Europe (Congolese in Belgium and the UK; Ghanaians in the Netherlands and the UK; Senegalese in France, Italy and Spain). Data were collected both in origin and destination countries, providing data on migrants abroad at the time of the surveys and also on returnees and non-migrants interviewed in origin countries. The individual questionnaire collects full retrospective histories of individual's housing, study and work trajectories, family formation, property ownership and migrant networks.
Children of Immigrants Longitudinal Study (CILS) was designed to study the adaptation process of the immigrant second generation. CILS followed a sample of over 5,200 children of immigrants from early adolescence to early adulthood, interviewing them at three key points of their life cycle: in junior high school, at average age 14, just prior to high school graduation (or dropping out of school), at average age 17, at the beginning of their work careers (or continuing schooling), at average age 24. Each sample wave retrieved approximately 85 percent of the preceding one. The third wave produced data on 3,564 respondents or 68 percent of the original sample.
The New Immigrant Survey (NIS) is a nationally representative multi-cohort longitudinal study of new legal immigrants and their children to the United States based on nationally representative samples of the administrative records, compiled by the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS), pertaining to immigrants newly admitted to permanent residence. It asks about immigrant lifestyles pre- and post-immigration, family networks, schooling, health, employment, income and transfers, housing, and assimiliation.
The Comparative Immigrant Organizations Project (CIOP) studied the effects of transnational and domestic organizations on the political incorporation of Latin American (Mexican, Colombian, Dominican) immigrants in the United States by examining the views of leaders of immigrant organizations toward citizenship acquisition and political participation in the United States as well as the actual activities of these organizations in civic life and politics, both in the United States and abroad. The dataset contains detailed measures of the extent of economic, political, and socio-cultural transnationalism, activities in the U.S. and sending countries, and characteristics of both the organizations and their members. Data in both Stata and SPSS formats.