LibGuides: Finding & Using Data : Women & Gender Studies

Labor and Economic Statistics

Catalyst
A leading nonprofit organization providing statistics for women across job levels, functions, and geographies to learn about women’s experiences in business, barriers to career advancement, and individual and organizational success strategies
Economic Security Institute: Wider Opportunities for Women (WoW)
Economic national and state data, reports, other research, and news. Includes economic security scorecards by state
Women’s Bureau: United States Department of Labor
Detailed data and infographic collections pertaining to women in the labor force including a large number of indicators relevant to gender wage gap, equal pay, statistics for working mothers, and reports by race and ethnicity

Health & Reproductive Rights Statistics

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention National Center for Health Statistics: Women’s Health
Statistics include indicators pertaining to health status, alcohol use, physical activity, and health insurance coverage
Guttmachen Institute
Build, download and share custom tables, graphs and maps utilizing data on key sexual and reproductive health indicators. This site also provides statistics and factsheets pertaining to abortion, contraception, HIV &STIS, pregnancy, and teen reproductive health
WomensHealth.Gov
Office on Women’s Health, US Department of Health and Human Services, providing factsheets on a large number of women's health topics
World Health Organization Global Health Observatory data: Women and Health
International data pertaining to mortality, life expectancy, and causes of death

Comprehensive Data & Statistics Collections

Institute for Women’s Policy Research
Detailed research and data pertaining to IWPR’s 5 key program areas: Employment, Education, & Economic Change; Democracy & Society; Poverty, Welfare, & Income Security; Work & Family; Health & Safety
more...less...
Detailed subtopics:
Employment, Education, & Economic Change
Pay Equity & Discrimination; Access to Good Jobs; Workforce Development & Job Training; Access to Higher Education; STEM & Innovation; The Economy, Business, & Unemployment

Democracy & Society
Civic & Political Engagement; Women in Unions; Status of Women & Girls; Racial & Ethnic Inequality; Immigration; International Women’s Status and Rights

Poverty, Welfare, & Income Security
Retirement & Social Security; Poverty & the Social Safety Net; Women & Asset-Building

Work & Family
Child Care & Early Education; Family & Medical Leave; Paid Sick Days; Flexible Work & Fair Scheduling

Health & Safety
Health & Well-Being; Reproductive Health & Rights; Violence & Safety
IWRP: The Status of Women in the States
The Status of Women in the States provides data on women’s progress in 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States overall
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Statistics pertaining to inequality including labor, violence against women, and women in politics
United Nations Statistics Division: Minimum Set of Gender Indicators
A collection of over 60 indicators relevant to gender equality and/or women’s empowerment by country including human rights for women and girl children, education, health and related services, economic structures, particpatin in productive activities, and public life and decision-making
United Nations Statistics Division: The World's Women Trends and Statistics
Contains datasets, key findings, summaries and infographics pertaining to topics: population and families, health, education, work, power and decision-marking, violence against women, environment, and poverty
WomanStats
The WomanStats Database is the largest crossnational compilation of data, statistics, and maps on the status of women worldwide, containing over 350 variables that explore the relationship between the situation and security of women, and the dynamics between security, stability, and behavior of the state. Additional issues include rape, sex trafficking, maternal and child mortality, family law, women in government and the military
The World Bank Gender Data Portal
A comprehensive source for international data and statistics covering demographics, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444

Finding & Using Data

Labor and Economic Statistics

Health & Reproductive Rights Statistics

Leadership Statistics

Comprehensive Data & Statistics Collections