LibGuides: Finding & Using Data : Country Profiles

International Data Sources

ForeignAssistance.gov
U.S. Government foreign aid site, containing data for over 300 country development indicators.
International Monetary Fund Data
National and international financial data from the International Financial Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Balance of Payments, Exchange Rates, and more.
IPUMS International
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Requires registration (free) to obtain full access to data.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, forecasting publications, reports, and socioeconomic datasets. The statistics section includes data in the areas of international trade, telecommunications, foreign aid, migration, and many other categories.

Our World in Data
Our World in Data is an online publication from University of Oxford that shows how living conditions are changing. The aim is to give a global overview and to show changes over the very long run, so that we can see where we are coming from and where we are today.
United Nations Data
This data portal combines 34 databases that cover agriculture, employment, education, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, population, refugees, trade, tourism, and more. Includes access to the Millennium Development Goals (MDG) Database.

World Bank Worldwide Indicators This link opens in a new window
World Bank provides global statistical data in support of research and the understanding of global issues.

World Bank Open Data
Free access to global development data across a large range of indicators. Use the Databank tool to create data visualizations.

Latin America & Caribbean Specific Resources

Inter-American Development Bank
Numbers for Development from the IADB, a source of development funding in Latin America and the Caribbean. Indicators include economic, industry, social data as well as more specialized datasets.
Latinobarómetro
Provides summary level public opinion data for Latin America for the period 1995-2011, excluding 1999
Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Database (MOxLAD)
Coverage includes population, demographics, labor, industry, transportation, trade, finance, national accounts and more.
Political Database of the Americas
The PDBA offers information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region. Updated to 2006.
Socio-Economic Database for Latin America and the Caribbean
Statistics on poverty, inequality, income and other socio-economic variables for all Latin American countries and several Caribbean
World Bank Data for Latin America and the Carribean
Includes data on GDP, population, school enrollment, C02 emissions, and life expectancy, among other indicators. Use the Data Bank tool to create data visualizations.

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444