Research Excellence & Academic Distinction
Scholarly Communication & Open Access
1. Promote Open Access Week Events (October 23-26, 2017) and Evaluate Participation
Goals: Host a Library open house for faculty, offer a Data Carpentry Workshop on October 25-26, show of The Internet's Own Boy: The Story of Aaron Schwarz.
Assessment Practice: Collect participation data and participant surveys for the workshop.
2. Enhance UC Publication Management System
Goal: Clean up faculty profiles in UC Publication Management System to facilitate deposits.
Assessment Practice: Monitor and collect statistics on the number of deposits in publication management system/eScholarship.
Outcome: From July 1, 2017 – June 30th, 2018 there were 417 deposits in eScholarship from all UC Merced units. A total of 39 articles went through the entire ingesting process of the UC Publication Management System. Of those, 34 were deposited into UC eScholarship while 5 were deposited in other open-access repositories and then linked to from UC eScholarship.
3. Library Liaisons
Goal: Meet the goals for Library liaisons as outlined in the document UC Merced Library Liaison Toolkit 2017-2018.
Outcome: The Liaison goals were met or exceeded across the board. For the 2018-19 academic year, library liaisons began using a shared Google spreadsheet to more easily record their liaison activities (broadly defined) in a central location. In reviewing the liaison goals after the end of the academic year, the liaisons agreed that it would be more useful to put more focus on collective group goals.
Goal A: Publish finding aids to the records of the UC Cooperative Extension county offices in Merced, Ventura, and Humboldt.
Assessment Practice: Collect Google analytics reports on usage.
Outcome A: Finding aids for all three collections were published but no significant usage data for finding aids available. Google analytics data for UCCE collections in Calisphere:
Goal B: Open full-text access to UC Agriculture and Natural Resources publications in HathiTrust.
Assessment Practice: HathiTrust does not provide usage statistics for collections under 3,000 items
Outcome B: A total of 774 records were submitted for UCANR review and 756 publications were released to the public for full-text access in HathiTrust. A collection of 1,151 UCANR publications was created in HathiTrust to facilitate discovery and access.
Goal C: Enable access to digitized collections from Yosemite National Park in Calisphere and Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).
Assessment Practice: Google analytics reporting for these collections will be managed by Yosemite National Park.
Outcome C: The Library digitized the reports of the Superintendent of Yosemite National Park, 1891-2008 (100 volumes) and 98 panoramic photographs taken from fire lookout towers. Access to the collections is available through NPGallery, Calisphere, and DPLA.
Goal D: Enable access to digitized collection(s) from Merced County Historical Society and Courthouse Museum.
Assessment Practice: Google analytics reporting for these collections will be managed by Merced County Historical Society.
Outcome D: The Library ingested the Yosemite Lumber Company, Merced Falls photographs collection (155 items) into the UC Libraries' digital asset management system. The collection is available to the public in Calisphere and DPLA.
Goal E: Collect and report statistics on the use and growth of the purchased or licensed physical and electronic collections.
Outcome E: See Appendix A below.
Goal F: Participate in governance and program development for HathiTrust and the Center for Research Libraries.
Outcome F: Jim Dooley represented the library at the annual members meeting of HT where the representatives provided input on the proposed strategic plan and feedback on proposed new services. He also represented the library at the annual meeting of CRL where he voted to approve the annual budget and participated in discussions of new strategic directions for CRL, particularly the shift from being a collector of print materials to being a funder and facilitator of electronic collections. He also voted on the selection of microform sets to be acquired by CRL.
5. Stewardship of Campus Intellectual Output
Goal A: Promote awareness of ORCID, data management planning, and data curation services (e.g. UC Merced Dash) through faculty liaison activities.
Assessment Practice: Collect number of inquiries related to data curation services.
Outcome A: Librarians provided overview of library services to the incoming IH cohort; incoming SSHA faculty; incoming SNS faculty, and 3 SOE departments (Management of Complex Systems, Mechanical Engineering, Bioengineering). Librarians also met with and provided an overview of the UCCE archives project to 2 campus-based UCCE specialists. Digital Curation and Scholarship (DCS) librarians provided guidance and detailed feedback on data management plans for 4 faculty grant submissions in 2017-2018: 2 new faculty and 2 senior faculty. Head of DCS was a collaborator on a 2018 MRPI grant proposal for a Digital Humanities Incubator (lead PI: D. Torres-Rouff). DCS also provided assistance on data deposits and DOIs for the Bales hydrology group; guidance on data publication to an EECS faculty member; 2 faculty in making their work OA; and archiving project reports for Public Health.
Goal B: Foster understanding of data management best practices through Data Carpentry workshops, graduate student seminars, and targeted workshops.
Assessment Practice: Collect and compile feedback from workshop participants.
Outcome B: The Library hosted a Data Carpentries workshop during Open Access week (10/26-10/27/2017) and delivered a presentation on data management and publication to workshop participants. A similar presentation was delivered during a second Carpentries workshop hosted by Prof. Emily Jane McTavish (1/11-1/12/2018).
In addition, Digital Curation and Scholarship hosted the following stand-alone workshops:
Managing Your Online Academic Identity
Open Access Publishing / Creative Commons / eScholarship
The UC Open Access Policies
Data Management Planning and Research Data Curation
Feedback gathered from the Data Management Planning workshop:
"It gave me a better view about how to manage my data, I think I will prepare soon a Data Management plan to help me to curate the data and discuss it with my adviser"
"I learned about data sharing and how important it is to be organized (especially working in a team setting or with future collaborators). The resources shared will be helpful in thinking about framing our research's data and getting feedback from the library on effective data management strategies."
"One takeaway is how important it is to have a data management plan and how to use and access the DMP Tool. It is also nice to know the FAIR acronym."
Librarians also led a total of 3 in-course instruction sessions on data management and scholarly communications: 2 for WH110 and 1 for QSB 294.
Goal C: Host and support Dat-in-the-Lab project (CDL and Code for Science and Society, co-investigators) with Dawson Lab to improve assessment of data management practices and pilot workflows.
Assessment Practice: Project team will report on outcomes at the end of the project.
Outcome C: Digital Curation and Scholarship hosted the kick-off meeting and training workshop with the Dawson Lab and Dat-in-the-Lab project leads, and participated in the final project meeting. For project outcomes, see https://uc3.cdlib.org/2018/10/15/lessons-from-dat-in-the-lab-webinar/
Goal A: Collect and report statistics relating to research and student success.
Goal B: Meet or exceed the 2017-2018 goals for recharge services ($20K – $35K).
Outcomes A & B:
Labs and Centers Supported
ESRI Software Users Supported
Students in workshops
For-credit courses supported
SpARC Students with job opportunities (intern/ft)
SpARC’s recharge income for FY17-18
1. Evaluate User Experience with New Scheduling Service for Research Appointments
Goal: Identify the benefits and/or challenges of My Scheduler in LibCal for UC Merced students and faculty.
Assessment Practice: Survey users of My Scheduler 1 day after their scheduled research appointment. The survey link will be listed in the automated follow-up email. Librarians will ask those they meet with to anticipate and complete the brief survey so we can evaluate this new service. We will also gather information on how they heard about this service. In addition, through data gathered in LibCal, we will also be able to gather information on number of appointments, when appointments are made etc. This will assist us in refining settings.
Outcomes: In-person research consultation grew in 2017-2018 and may be attributed to the use of LibCal and our advertising around this services, especially through the Library Tour. In 2016-2017 we recorded 61 research consultations while in 2017-2018 we recorded 184 in Reference Analytics, an increase of over 200%. Upwards of 70% of scheduled appointments are kept. The majority of users are undergraduates though graduate students and faculty have used the service too. Questions are most likely to be from students completing assignments related to writing, public health, or psychology classes. The majority of appointments are made less than 24 hours before the appointment time. Details are available at this 2017-2018 report compiled by Elizabeth Salmon.
Teaching and Learning
1. Improve Teaching Practice through Self Reflection
Goal: Librarians will identify strengths and areas of improvement in face-to-face teaching in order to continually improve their teaching practice and student learning.
Assessment Practice: Librarians (4-5) will self-evaluate their teaching through viewing video footage, applying a rubric, and reviewing observations (from SATAL). Individuals will discuss findings with colleagues and implement changes in spring 2017.
Outcomes: In fall 2017, four librarians who teach the bulk of library sessions were filmed by SATAL (Students Assessing Teaching and Learning) for part of a single library instruction session in KL 371. SATAL provided the video files to each library instructor as well as a written class observation report. Librarians used both the video and the report to engage in self-reflection. They reviewed SATAL finding and viewed a minimum of 30 minutes of their teaching session. Based on this information, they applied the Teaching Self-Assessment as part of an overall reflection. Librarians scored themselves on variety & pacing of instruction, preparation & organization, presentation skills, clarity, and instructor-student interaction. They also responded to six questions to highlight what they did well and what they could do better. While librarians did this individually, they met in December 2017 and discussed their individual findings with each other including what and how they might go about making changes for the spring. Based on these individual reflections and group discussion, these are the types of activities and strategies library instructors used in spring 2018.
Based on an exit slip analysis from spring 2018, librarians will continue to increase engagement with students through more interactivity. Overall, students find that library sessions provide resources relevant to their assignment and feel more confident in their ability to use and find resources.
2. Software & Data Carpentry Capabilities
Goal: Become an institutional member of Software & Data Carpentry organization and get one library instructor trained.
Outcome: The Library became an institutional member of Software & Data Carpentry organization as of July 1, 2018. A cohort of 6 instructors will be trained in the 2018-2019 academic year.
1. Knowledge of Data Curation
Goal: LAUC-M will conduct professional development focused on research data curation using Big Data, Little Data, No Data as a common read and holding monthly discussions on concepts and key issues. All librarians will be conversant in basic research data curation and scholarly communication requirements and have knowledge of current systemwide tools and services.
Assessment Practice: LAUC-M will discuss and evaluate the benefits of the common read and monthly discussions at the end of the year (July 2018).
Outcome: During monthly LAUC-M meetings, members discussed concepts and key issues derived from chapters of the common read, Big Data, Little Data, No Data.
2. Diversity Initiatives
Goal: The Library will bring in an outside consultant to discuss workplace diversity with UC Merced librarians.
Outcome: On August 28 and 29, 2017 Dr. Mark Winston, consultant on library diversity issues, met with UC Merced librarians for discussion of workplace diversity and the challenges UC Merced Library faces in recruiting librarians from under-represented-minority groups due to both the small amount of hiring that we do, our somewhat remote location, and the fact that UC Merced is relatively new and unknown.
3. Professional Development
Goal: UC Merced Librarians and Career staff will participate in professional development activities.
Outcomes: The following is a master list of UC Merced Library presentations and publications for FY2017-18.
Salmon, E. & Ameen. S. Analyzing Library Occupancy and Use. Assessment as Research Symposium, UC Merced. Merced, CA, 2018.
Donald A. Barclay
Fake News, Propaganda, and Plain Old Lies: How to Find Trustworthy Information in the Digital Age. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2018.
“Confronting the Wicked Problem of Fake News: A Role for Education.” Cicero Foundation Great Debate Paper. No. 18/03. May 2018. http://www.cicerofoundation.org/lectures/Donald_Barclay_Confronting_Fake_News.pdf.
“UC Merced Librarian on How to Spot Fake News.” Capital Public Radio Insight with Beth Ruyak.” (Radio Interview). June 7, 2018. http://www.capradio.org/news/insight/2018/06/07/insight-060718b.
“Fake News, Real Concerns: Developing Information Literate Students.” American Library Association Publishing National Webinar. April 11, 2018.
“AL Live: Tackling Fake News.” Co-panelist with Joanna M. Burkhardt and Nicole A. Cooke).” American Library Association Publishing National Webinar. November 1, 2017. https://alapublishing.webex.com/cmp3300/webcomponents/docshow/docshow.do?siteurl=alapublishing&mactype=Osx&rnd=0.15013598514191562.
“Fake News, Real Concerns: What Can Librarians Do to Improve Information Literacy in the Age of the Social Media Noise Machine?” American Library Association Publishing National Webinar. July 27, 2017.
Sara Davidson Squibb
Initiated, organized and presented in panel “Teaching Critical Evaluation of News in a (Mis)Information Environment” for California Association of Research Libraries (CARL) conference, April 2018 with Donald Barclay, Ellen Carey, and Shonn Haren.
Co-created and co-presented poster “Articulating Information Literacy in Introductory Writing – Librarians and Faculty Collaborate” for California Association of Research Libraries (CARL) conference, April 2018.
“Be Aware: Elevate Your News Evaluation: Emphasizing Media Literacy, One Library’s Initiative.” C&RL News 78.10 (Nov. 2017) 541-545. https://doi.org/10.5860/crln.78.10.541.
Review of “American Periodicals (AP) for CC Advisor. Oct. 2017. https://www.ccadvisor.org/review/10.5260/CCA.199453 (peer reviewed) – requires login
Review of “Women’s Wear Daily” for CC Advisor. Sept. 2017. https://www.ccadvisor.org/review/10.5260/CCA.199464 (peer reviewed) - requires login
Davis, L., & Young, C. (2018, July). Integrating intersectionality into library instruction and programming. Presentation at Library Instruction West 2018, Grand Junction, CO.
Davis, L. (2018, June). Library Marketing and Outreach Interest Group. Discussion held at the American Library Association Annual Conference, New Orleans, LA.
Davis, L., & Park, J. (2018, Jan.). Library Marketing and Outreach Interest Group. Discussion held at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting, Denver, CO.
Davis, L., Park, J., Dantus, S., Davidson, C., Lafazan, B.C., & Petit, J. (2017, Dec.). Marketing for the beginner: Resources from the ACRL Library Marketing and Outreach Interest Group. College & Research Libraries News, 78(11), 612-15. https://doi.org/10.5860/crln.78.11.612
UCANR Program Council. “Overview of the UCCE Archives Project.” 9/5/17.
Merced County Historical Society 1st Annual Conference. “Digital Assets and Copyright.” 10/10/17.
Southern University of Science and Technology, Shenzhen, China. “Management of Digital Assets and Its Roles in a Contemporary Academic Library.” 10/16/17.
PRRLA Conference, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China. “What is Local has Global Impact: Focusing Digital Strategies to Extend Research Capabilities.” 10/18/17.
UCCE County Directors. “CARA.” 2/2/18.
University Friends Circle. “Digital Curation and Scholarship.” 2/6/18.
UC DLFx. “Developing Technologies Together: The Secret Sauce for Collaboration.” 2/27/18.
UC DLFx. “Demystifying Data Curation.” 2/27/18.
UC DLFx. “Clear Collaboration: Tightening Up Collaborative Digitization Projects.” 2/28/18.
UC DLFxDAMS. “Panel Discussion.” 2/28/18.
San Joaquin Valley Alumni Network. “CARA.” 3/6/18
Merced Sunrise Rotary Club. “Digital Curation and Scholarship.” 4/26/18.
USAIN Poster. “Researcher Needs and the Long-term Value of County Cooperative Extension Materials in California.” 5/14/18.
USAIN. “Mission? Permission! Opening Publications in HathiTrust—Membership Not Required. 5/16/18.
UC Ask-A-Librarian Refresher Webinar. August 2, 2017. (Co-presented with Antoinette Avila–UC Irvine.)
Articulation Information Literacy in Introductory Writing. California Association of Research Libraries Conference (CARL), Redwood City, CA, April 13, 2018. (Co-presented with Sara Davidson Squibb, Heather Devrick, & Susan Miller.)
Poems published in in Eunoia Review:
"Water Weight" https://eunoiareview.wordpress.com/2017/11/23/water-weight/
Poems published in Gnarled Oak:
"On the Edge of Town" http://gnarledoak.org/issue-15/on-the-edge-of-town/
"The Animal Inside It" http://gnarledoak.org/issue-14/the-animal-inside-it/
Poets Respond Selection for the Week (November 2017):
"Partial List of Men." https://www.rattle.com/partial-list-of-men-by-elizabeth-mcmunn-tetangco/
Winner, November 2017 Rattle Ekphrastic Challenge:
"Surf Days" https://www.rattle.com/surf-days-by-elizabeth-mcmunn-tetangco/
One Sentence Poems. (Co-editor with Dale Wisely & Tony Press.)
Salmon, E. & Ameen. S. Analyzing Library Occupancy and Use. Assessment as Research Symposium, UC Merced. Merced, CA, 2018.
Poster Presentation: Researcher Needs and the Long-term Value of County Cooperative Extension Materials in California, USAIN 16th Biannual Conference, May 14, 2018.
Panel Presentation and Discussion: Appraisal Outside the Box, “Please give me your Records! Off-site Appraisal of the UC Cooperative Extension Archive”, Society of California Archivist, Annual General Meeting, April 13, 2018.
Poster Presentation: Preserving 100 Years of Agricultural Resources: The UC Cooperative Extension Archive, LAUC Assembly, March 23, 2018.
4. Prepare Annual Report for Campus Administration and Faculty
Goal: Prepare a document highlighting UC Merced Library activities for the fiscal year and share this with campus administrators and faculty.
Outcome: The Library prepared a highlights document that was distributed to campus administrators, faculty, and others.
1. Promote UC Cooperative Extension Archive Project
Goal: Promote the UC Cooperative Extension Archive Project through partnerships build by participation in the following events:
Assessment Practice: The Library will attempt to collect number of interactions (headcount or items given away at exhibit booth) at WorldAg Expo, as well as quality of interactions/audience feedback at these event.
2. Expand External Support
Goal: Seek out opportunities to bring external support to the UC Merced Library by holding regular meetings with University Development. In addition, increase awareness of development opportunities among the entire Library staff.
3. Support and Celebrate the Achievements of UC Merced Faculty
Goal: Host a series of faculty book talks during the year.
Assessment Practice: Record and report on the participation for each book talk.
Outcomes: During 2017-2018, the Library hosted four Faculty Author series events in which UC Merced faculty authors talked about books they had recently written. A total of 91 persons attended the four events:
4. Host Exhibits in the Library
Goal: Host exhibits in the Library throughout the year, including
Outcomes: The Library hosted the following exhibits during FY17-18:
Print books 133,375
Checkout of physical materials 19,982
Items lent through ILL 6,326
Print books 136,417
Checkout of physical materials 17,567
Items lent through ILL 6694
Print books increased by 3,042.
E-books increased by 198,095 This is almost entirely due to increases in CDL packages and does not include HT open access e-books.
E-serials increased by 30,757 This is entirely due to increases in CDL packages. Data comes directly from CDL.
Checkouts decreased by 2,415. Previous years have shown continuous modest increases. We will need to gather several more years of data to determine if this year marks the beginning of a downward trend in circulation of physical materials.
Items lent through ILL increased by 368 This continues a trend of modest annual increases in lending.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.