Read some general information about your topic that can be found in a reference source. What is a reference source? It can be a database that contains encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases and other general knowledge. It can also be a print book that lives in the Stacks (shelves) or the Reference section of a library.
While background databases aren't sources you typically should use in your researched argument, these kinds of encyclopedia articles are a great starting point as they provide general information, context, potential subtopics, and more. Jot down some notes about what you read and keep track of where you found that information (i.e. record the citation of the encyclopedia article). Keep in mind the importance of using a source’s bibliography or list of references in your own research.
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Before you can start any research on your topic, you must have a background knowledge of it. Books and websites can provide you with that knowledge.
This is important because:
Remember, background information is always a starting point for research, not an ending point.
In addition to being a great place to start exploring an unfamiliar topic, Wikipedia is considered a tertiary source. Writers of tertiary sources synthesize information from secondary sources and strive to report them in a tone that is as unbiased and neutral as possible.
Some tertiary sources are cited in academic research and others are not. This practice varies by discipline so contact your instructor or a librarian with questions!
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
