SURI

Zotero = your personal research assistant. "Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, annotate, cite, and share research."

• an open source citation management tool
• free accounts include 300 MG of storage
• over 9,000 citation styles are supported!
• citations will sync between the cloud and client components
• available for Mac, Windows, and Linux
• a project of the Corporation for Digital Scholarship & the Roy Rosenweig Center for History and New Media
• community supported; see documentation https://www.zotero.org/support/

1. Register for an account. https://www.zotero.org/user/register/

2. Install Zotero. Click Download. Also install the Connector for your browser.

Web Account (Cloud)

• Settings
• Web Library (Create or Join)
• Documentation & Forums

Client (Desktop)

• Left pane - Collections (folders)
• Middle pane - Resources in Collections
• Right pane - Resource specifics

Favorite Method

• Save to Zotero (Zotero Connector) in upper right of browser. PREFERRED
  • The icon changes based on the source type.

Additional Methods

• Green circle + > link to file. Browse for a file on your device.
• Drag PDFs onto the pane.
• Magic Stick -- paste in DOI or PMID https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4147437/
• Export from databases.
• Import a citation in an accepted style (BibTeX or RIS) for exchanging data.

• NPR News article https://www.npr.org/2023/06/02/1179612143/how-will-generative-ai-such-as-chatgpt-affect-the-workplace
• Journal article landing page https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/14712598.2018.1402002
• PsycInfo Database (a selection of articles) http://uclibs.org/PID/20972 Hint: Select items, look for three dots, and then an RIS option.
• An item of your choice from Google Scholar (BibTeX) > Use Import from Clipboard or PREFERRED method
• An item of your choice from UC Library Search > Export RIS > Use Import or PREFERRED method

Click on the source in the middle pane.

Make edits at right pane.

• Change item type.
• Add Author.
• Add page numbers.
• Ensure there is a DOI.

Notes & Tags

• available to you

Right click on source in center pane for various options.

• Add Note
• Add Attachment
• Add to Collection (makes another copy in a folder BUT will delete it here if deleted elsewhere!); may wish to Duplicate.
• Create Bibliography from Item (paste into document)

Open Word. Look for Zotero in the upper ribbon of Word. Select it.

Step 1: Document Preferences

• Which citation style do you want?

Step 2: Start Adding Citations to Your Document

Zotero Quick Bar

• Type in author name.
• Select author.
• Click on bar to insert page number.
• Repeat as needed.
• Hit enter when done.

Zotero Classic View (may be preferred if you want to see the authors & titles)

• Search for author (upper right).
• Select author.
• Add page number.
• Select Multiple Source. This will initially move the citation to the right panel.
• Select another source. Hit the green arrow to move it to the right panel.
• Enter page number.
• Click OK or Enter when you have select all desired sources.

Step 3: Create Bibliography

Once you have added one or more citations to the document, you can created bibliography.

• Click. Add/Edit Bibliography.

1. Start a Word document.
2. Locate the Zotero "tab".
3. Select the citation style you wish to use.
4. Add a minimum of one citation to the document using the Quick Bar.
5. Add a minimum of one citation to the document using the Classic View.
6. Create the bibliography in your Word document.

Our Zotero guide provides instructions for using this citation management tool.