Summer Undergraduate Research Institute (SURI): Digital Research Skills

ResearchRabbit

ResearchRabbit is a literature mapping tool. Add article citations to ResearchRabbit to locate related articles and to explore author connections. "Do a search without a search bar."

Finding DOIs

About DOIs

• ResearchRabbit will take an active DOI or just the DOI number (inactive DOI).

  • An active DOI looks like a hyperlink. Example: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.worlddev.2012.09.012

  • An inactive DOI omits https//doi.org/ and often starts with 10 (especially if assigned pre-2011). Example: DOI: 10.2307/1354482

DOIs of articles related to the topic of academic success AND caring adult

https://doi.org/10.1002/bmb.21556

https://doi.org/10.1021/acs.jchemed.0c01497

https://doi.org/10.1037/tps0000228

https://doi.org/10.1080/19345747.2018.1429037

https://doi.org/10.3390/educsci10100279

Sample Paper (for Sara's collection): "Cigarette Design Features: Effects on Emission Levels, User Perception, and Behavior" | DOI https://doi.org/10.18001/TRS.4.1.6 [DOI may not work]

Start a Collection; Add an Article to Your Collection (Do Together)

1. + Collection
2. Title the Collection (folder)
3. Click on Collection.
4. Click + Add Papers green button.
5. Paste in your article title OR DOI of the article.
6. Click blue Search button.
7. Choose area to search in -- Biomedical & Life Sciences or All Subject Areas. (It may or may not give you this option.)
8. If the correct article is found, click on Add to Collection green button.
9. If needed, close the pop-up window at upper left with X.

Explore Papers

1. Select one or more papers in a Collection.
2. Look for Explore Papers (in panel).

All Reference & All Citations = Citations networks

• All References = the sources the authors cited; if you hover over the graph the arrows point out
• All Citations = articles that have since cited this article; if you hover over the graph the arrows point in

Similar Work

1. Click on Similar Work.
   • This will produce a panel with citations of articles AND a graph to illustrate the connections between these similar works.
     • green nodes are items in your Collection
     • blue nodes are NOT in your Collection; darker blue nodes indicate more recent articles

Done

1. Create your Research Rabbit account.
2. Make a collection (folder) in Research Rabbit.
3. Add an article you located in Web of Science to your collection.  

To Do

1. Find a minimum of TWO connected articles ("Similar Work") and add them to your folder.
2. Filter by some aspect of your research. (Sara may have tried limiting by design, branding, marketing etc.)
3. Under Explore People, locate an author. (This could be your faculty mentor!) View articles written by that author.

Sync with Zotero

• Add Papers (big green button). You can choose to Import Zotero Collection (citation management tool).
• See the "light" Z next to the Collection name. You can re-sync or turn it off.
• You can also export papers at RIS or BibTex to a tool like Zotero.

Collaborate with Others

• When a Collection is selected, look for the panel that states "Public collection".
• In this section, you can make the collection public, copy a shareable link, add collaborators etc.