Handbook on Health Inequality Monitoring by
Monitoring health inequality is a practice that fosters accountability and continuous improvement within health systems. The cycle of health inequality monitoring helps to identify and track health differences between subgroups, providing evidence and feedback to strengthen equity-oriented policies, programs and practices. Through inequality monitoring and the use of disaggregated data, countries gain insight into how health is distributed in the population, looking beyond what is indicated by national averages. Data about health inequalities underlie health interventions that aim to reach vulnerable populations. Furthermore, they constitute an evidence base to inform and promote equity-oriented health initiatives, including the movement towards equitable universal health coverage. This Handbookis a user-friendly resource developed to help countries establish and strengthen health inequality monitoring practices. The handbook elaborates on the steps of health inequality monitoring, including selecting relevant health indicators and equity stratifiers, obtaining data, analyzing data, reporting results and implementing changes. Throughout the handbook, examples from low- and middle-income countries are presented to illustrate how concepts are relevant and applied in real-world situations; informative text boxes provide the context to better understand the complexities of the subject. The final section of the handbook presents an expanded example of national-level health inequality monitoring of reproductive, maternal and child health.
Handbook of Medical Sociology, Sixth Edition by
Composed entirely of specially commissioned chapters by many outstanding scholars in medical sociology, this edition reflects important changes in the study of health and illness. In addition to updated and reconceived chapters on the impacts of gender, race, and inequality on health, this volume has new chapters on topics that include: * social networks, neighborhoods, and social capital * disability * dying and "the right to die" * health disparities * the growing influence of the pharmaceutical industry * the Internet * evidence-based medicine and quality of care * health social movements * genetics * religion, spirituality, and health
Encyclopedia of Sociology by Search for terms in UC Library Search. When available, an "About the Topic" section will appear above your search results. The source for this Reference information here is the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences.
In UC Library Search, you can find reference and background information by using the Resource Type option on the left side menu. Click "show more" under Resource Type, then look for "Reference Entries," check the box next to it, and click Apply Filter at the bottom of the page.
Your results should have reference entries from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference sources.
SAGE Research Methods has a lot of resources that can help you with your research. It includes cases, videos, datasets, and more, including detailed information on compiling literature reviews.
See the SAGE Research Methods Guide for more information.
In addition to being a great place to start exploring an unfamiliar topic, Wikipedia is considered a tertiary source. Writers of tertiary sources synthesize information from secondary sources and strive to report them in a tone that is as unbiased and neutral as possible.
Some tertiary sources are cited in academic research and others are not. This practice varies by discipline so contact your instructor or a librarian with questions!
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
