Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Reopening Dashboard
Get the latest information on the status of library services and space.
 Ask a Question

Searching in PubMed: Accessing Full Text

A guide for using PubMed, the world's largest database for biomedical and health sciences literature.

Accessing Full Text

When looking at an article record, you will see Full Text links to the right of the article title. Full text options may include free access through PubMed Central or access via a publisher link, along with UC-eLinks.

To display UC-eLinks, connect to PubMed through the Library (from the A-Z database list or the below database entry) while on campus or connected to the VPN. 

Access Library Resources from Off Campus

The VPN allows you to connect to the library's online articles and eBooks from off campus.

Visit Connecting Off Campus to download the VPN.

VPN

*Image courtesy of Design Services, UCI Libraries

PMC: PubMed Central

When full text is available in PubMed Central (PMC), the "PMC FREE Full text" icon will appear on the citation's abstract page under Full-Text Links. Click the icon to view the article in PMC. PMC is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

UC-eLinks

If the full-text of an article is not immediately available via a PDF or HTML, use the UC-eLinks button to retrieve it from another database or reach the request page to get it from another library through Interlibrary Loan using your UCMnetID as your Library account number. 

Publisher Links

Journal publishers may provide access to articles for free, after registering as an individual or guest, or for a fee. Select the publisher icon if full text if not available through PubMed Central or UC-eLinks. If full text is not free from the publisher, return to the UC-eLInks menu to place an ILL request.