Native American & Indigenous Communities

A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.

1991 - present. Index of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

This comprehensive international database includes research on United States and Canadian history for all periods from prehistory to the current decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and Ph.D dissertations. Draws upon over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

19th century - present.Indexes articles from over 2500 scholarly journals. Also indexes book chapters, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.

Includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.

GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and related to the environment. Full text is available for selected titles and references are available for an additional 200 titles.

1970 - present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.

Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues.  Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included. As of 2024, also includes ARTstor.

Full-text versions of scholarly journals and books from university presses and scholarly societies. Focused on the humanities and social sciences.

1833 - 1893. A collection of close to 14,000 letters written by those who served as Presbyterian missionaries to the American Indians during the 19th century. Via Gale

Access to the extensive FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as a social protest organization, as well as documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off. Via Gale.

1935-present. A bibliography of books, journal articles, proceedings in social sciences and humanities, edited by scholars selected by the Library of Congress (LOC).

1809 - 1971. Focuses on American Indians in the first half of the 20th Century, a period that has not been studied in as much as the afflicted 19th Century. The two major collections on the 20th Century in this module are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. Also contains collections on American Indians in the 19th Century focused on interaction among white settlers, the government, and Indian tribes.

Access to the papers of the Panton, Leslie & Co., a trading firm established in British East Florida during the American Revolution, comprising one of the most complete ethnographic collection available for the study of the American Indians of the Southeast. More than 8,000 legal, political and diplomatic documents recording the company’s operations for over half a century. Via Gale.

Contains two sets of documents in response to 40 years of failed Native American policies: the full text of the report entitled The Problem of Indian Administration, also known as the Meriam Report and the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs. Both provide unique insights into many major tribes: Sioux, Navaho, Quapaw, Chickasaw, Apache, Pueblo, Ute, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Kickapoo, Klamath, and many others. Via Gale.

Contains over 250 plays by 49 playwrights representing groups such as Cherokee, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. More than half of the works are previously unpublished or hard to find.

Includes biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories from indigenous peoples from all areas of North America.

1500-1926. Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains over 6 million pages from 29,000 works about the Americas published from 1500 to the early 1900s. Includes books, pamphlets, serials and other documents providing insight into exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, Native Americans, military actions and more.

1800 -1824. Consists of letters and correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, treaty and other commissioners, Treasury Department officials, and other public and private individuals.Also includes vouchers, receipts, requisitions, abstracts and financial statements, certificates of deposit, depositions, contracts, newspapers, copies of speeches to Indians, proceedings of conferences with Indians in Washington, licenses of traders, passports for travel in the Indian country, appointments, and instructions to commissioners, superintendents, agents, and other officials. Via Gale.