Anthropology

19th century - present.Indexes articles from over 2500 scholarly journals. Also indexes book chapters, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.

A research tool for anthropological scholarship developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Includes peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).

Access to over 65,000 video titles in subjects such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Via Alexander Street. If you have access issues, follow this link to troubleshoot.

Access to discipline-focused, primary-source collections and streaming media for learning and research. If you have access issues, follow this link to troubleshoot.

1763-2016. Covers the history of anthropology, colonialism, social sciences, and humanities across the globe. Contains over 150,000 maps and charts, ethnographic photographs, manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, proceedings, maps, surveys and field notes. 

1478-1953. Covers history of exploration, colonization and de-colonization, anthropology, law, climate science, gender studies, cartography, and the environment in the British Empire. Contains manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, proceedings, maps, charts, atlases, photographs, and surveys.

Access to eBooks and journal content by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

Brings together cultural, linguistic, environmental and geographic information on over 1,400 human societies, facilitating comparison and contrast of cultural practices and exploration of factors that may underlie cultural similarities and differences.

A cross-cultural database that includes information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. If you have access issues, follow this link to troubleshoot.

1970 - present. Provides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Includes publications from professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers.

Access to discipline-focused streaming media collections for learning and research. Includes Academic Video Online, American History in Video, Ethnographic Video Online, World History in Video and more. If you have access issues, follow this link to troubleshoot.

A collection of open access articles, reports, drug monographs, controlled substance notifications, historical documents, and other material relating to the forensic sciences. 

Provides access to UC Berkeley’s Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology's collections of more than 3 million objects, photographs, films and sound recordings. Searchable by object type, collection, donor, time period or culture, function and more.

Access to a compendium of peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and short encyclopedia entries via Oxford University Press. Subscribed content covers a wide range of subjects spanning the humanities and social sciences.

Access to 25 peer-reviewed, up-to-date encyclopedias spanning a variety of disciplines, including Social Work and Classics.

1940 - 2018. The PrimateLit database was archived in 2018. You can download the data from the site or visit an archived version from 2004 via the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine. It indexed articles, books, technical , dissertations, book chapters, etc. and covered many subject areas including behavior, colony management, veterinary science, physiology, evolution, genetics, and more. 

Provides access to descriptions and inventories of thousands of primary resource collections maintained by archival units across the Smithsonian. The collections document the history of art, culture, music, flight, space exploration, science and technology, and native cultures in the United States, as well as history of the Smithsonian itself.

SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs). Free account creation recommended but not required.

1952 - present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.

1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

A collection of databases containing unique or rare historical primary sources, digitized from societies, libraries, and archives around the world. UC Merced access includes: The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI), British Association for the Advancement of Science (Collections on the History of Science: 1830-1970) (BAAS), Royal Geographical Society (RGS), The Royal College of Physicians (RCP) and The New York Academy of Sciences (NYAS).