American West is a unique resource which allows scholars to explore tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes and outlaws and the environmental impact of westward expansion. The collection is a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources.
A collection focusing on border and migration issues in more than thirty worldwide border areas, such as the U.S. and Mexico, the European Union, Turkey and others.
A resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History. Comprises thousands of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, & periodicals addressing 19th and early 20th century issues.
1492 - 2007. A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies from libraries and archives around the world. Developed to encourage undergraduate work with rare primary documents by using images of the texts rather than transcriptions.
Drawing upon the unique manuscript archives of the National Library of Scotland this project provides a fully searchable online resource for studying the relationship between Britain and the British Empire in India. Manuscripts include diaries, journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.
Provides access to personal accounts of immigrants who came to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
More than 150,000 pages of diaries and letters of over 1300 women, colonial period through 1950. Includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Original archival materials documenting key issues and events from the period 1950 - 1975. Includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, ephemera, memorabilia and selected video footage.
1674 - 1913. Contains the searchable text of over 197,000 criminal trials held at the Old Bailey Courthouse, London’s central criminal court, and the Ordinary of Newgate’s Accounts (1676 and 1772). Published for popular audiences, they are not official transcripts of court proceedings but grant valuable insights into the lives of non-elite people of the time.
Brings together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world with unique materials relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. Explores themes such as slavery in the early Americas, slave testimony, varieties of slave experience and more. Via Adam Matthew.
Includes primary source materials from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collection. Provides access to letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, etc. from collections focused on the Vietnam War and related Public Policy, and the Black Freedom struggle in the 20th century.
1809 - 1971. Focuses on American Indians in the first half of the 20th Century, a period that has not been studied in as much as the afflicted 19th Century. The two major collections on the 20th Century in this module are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. Also contains collections on American Indians in the 19th Century focused on interaction among white settlers, the government, and Indian tribes.
1945 -1961. Presents major White House files from the Truman and Eisenhower administrations. The focus of the Truman files is the President's Secretary's file while the Eisenhower files are focused on the Confidential File and the Whitman File of the Eisenhower White House Central Files.
A supplement to the original Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records by adding civil rights records from the Ford and Reagan presidencies.
1854 - 1870, Unique coverage of the Confederate Army and the Union Army. Highlights include papers of spies, scouts, guides and detectives, including a series on Allan Pinkerton, records on military discipline from courts-martial, courts of inquiry and investigations by military commissions, and records of the U.S. Colored Troops.
1960-1969. Focuses on U.S. State Department Central Files that have not been microfilmed by the National Archives or distributed by other publishers. Covers sensitive materials from U.S. diplomats in Biafra/Nigeria, Congo, Egypt, Ghana, South Africa, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Lebanon, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, the Persian Gulf States (Aden, Bahrein, Kuwait, Muscat & Oman, Qatar, Trucial Sheiks), and Yemen.: reports on political, military, and socioeconomic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials, important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel, and reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers.
1960-1969. Focuses on U.S. State Department Central Files that have not been microfilmed by the National Archives or distributed by other publishers. Covers sensitive materials from U.S. diplomats in China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Philippine Republic, and Vietnam: reports on political, military, and socioeconomic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials, important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel, and reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers.
1960-1969. Focuses on U.S. State Department Central Files that have not been microfilmed by the National Archives or distributed by other publishers. Covers sensitive materials from U.S. diplomats in Federal Republic of Germany (West Germany), Germany (focusing on Berlin), Soviet Union, Cuba, Mexico, Panama, and Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Venezuela, Bolivia, Ecuador, and Peru : reports on political, military, and socioeconomic matters, interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials, important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel, and reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers.
1940-1948. Focuses on understanding the modern history of the Middle East, the establishment of Israel as a sovereign state, and the wider web of postwar international world politics.
1945 - 1972. Focuses on records of the FBI and the Subversive Activities Control Board highlighting J. Edgar Hoover's office files, documentation on the FBI's so-called "black bag jobs," or "surreptitious entries", and the "Do Not File" File.
1880 -1930. Access to the investigations made during the immigration wave at the turn of the 20th century. Covers Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states, Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930, and European immigration.
1862 - 1974. Documents the growth, transformation, successes and failures of one of the modern American labor movement. Four major national organizations are documented in substantial detail in this module: the Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO.
1861 - 1976. Brings together 11 collections from the Harvard Law School Library. These are the papers of Albert Levitt, Felix Frankfurter, Livingston Hall, Louis D. Brandeis, Richard H. Field, Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr., Roscoe Pound, the Sacco-Vanzetti Case, Sheldon Glueck, William H. Hastie, and Zechariah Chafee.
Focuses on the personal and public lives of one of the 20th century's most influential and controversial figures, covering the birth control movement, including the movement's changing ideologies, its campaign for legitimacy, and its internal conflicts and organizational growth.
1909-1970. Focuses on the NAACP's evolution, policies, and achievements, including thousands of pages of minutes of directors' meetings, monthly reports from officers to the board of directors, proceedings of the annual business meetings, significant records of the association's annual conferences, plus special reports on a wide range of issues.
1913 - 1972. Chronicles the local leaders of the civil rights revolution via NAACP branches throughout the United States, including attorneys, community organizers, financial benefactors, students, mothers, school teachers, and other participants.
Covers subjects and episodes that are crucial but not paramount to the NAACP's history, such as civil rights complaints and legislation, the Klan, communism and anticommunism during the years of the "red scare," the congressional prosecution of Hollywood personalities, the prosecution of conscientious objectors during World War II, NAACP's relations with African colonial liberation movements, NAACP fundraising and membership recruitment, urban riots, the War on Poverty, and the emergence of the Black Power Movement.
A collection documenting the NAACP's major campaigns for equal access to education, voting, employment, housing and in the military. Covers the work leading to Brown v. Board of Education in 1954, as well as efforts to implement the Brown decision and combat de facto segregation outside of the South, along with the campaign against the white primary, discriminatory registration practices, the grandfather clause, and the triumphs of the 1957 Civil Rights Act and the Voting Rights Act of 1965.
1956 - 1972. Access to working case files of the NAACP's general counsel and his Legal Department staff, documenting the NAACP's campaign to bring about desegregation throughout the United States, particularly in the South. Contains over 600 cases from 34 states and the District of Columbia.
Focuses on the NAACP's efforts to combat lynching, mob violence, discrimination in the criminal justice system, and white resistance to civil rights efforts. Also contains materials on segregation and discrimination complaints regarding public accommodations and recreational facilities sent to and investigated by the NAACP, as well as records on discrimination in employment.
A collection of highlighting the domestic and foreign concerns of the President and his administration. The files cover the Great Depression, the New Deal, America's involvement in World War II and the internal workings of the Roosevelt administration.
1941 - 1961. Contains over 3,500 classified reports about Asia, Europe, the Soviet Union, Latin America, and Africa during World War II and the first decade and a half of the Cold War via the Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and the State Department.
1872 - 1934. Consists of 11 collections on a variety of the ways that the Progressive Movement tried to improve the lives of the American people. Subjects include women's right to vote, the Standard Oil monopoly case, the efforts of journalist Henry Demarest Lloyd, the University Settlement Society of New York City, prohibition, reform of law enforcement, the Teapot Dome bribery case regarding petroleum reserves on government lands, and regulation of food and drugs.
1879 - 1924. A collection documenting the early career in the political reform movement of Congressman, Governor, and United States Senator, Robert Marion La Follette. from 1879 to 1910.
1865 - 1877. Offers insight into the early Reconstruction period in the American South via letters, petitions, court proceedings and internal documents related to elections.
1912 - 1969. Access to correspondence, research reports, brochures, court hearings and speeches, representing a large and important collection of primary material for the study of the family and the health and well-being of children in the twentieth century.
1700 -1896. Focuses on the industrial uses of slave labor through company records, business and personal correspondence, documents pertaining to the purchase, hire, medical care, and provisioning of slave laborers, descriptions of production processes, and journals recounting costs and income. Documents slavery in such enterprises as gold, silver, copper, and lead mining, iron manufacturing, machine shop work, lumbering, quarrying, brickmaking, tobacco manufacturing, shipbuilding, and heavy construction, and building of railroads and canals.
1775 - 1915. Access to both the business records and personal papers of Southern plantation owners via the South Caroliniana Library at the University of South Carolina, Maryland Historical Society, Howard-Tilton Memorial Library at Tulane University, Louisiana State Museum, and the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries. Includes ledger books, payroll books, cotton ginning books, work rules, account books, receipts, family correspondence, diaries, and wills.
1775 - 1915. Access to both the business records and personal papers of Southern plantation owners via the University of Virginia and Duke University. Covers matters as land and crop sales, slave and medical accounts, family and overseers' correspondence, documents on slave sales, runaway slaves, discipline, diet, health, and the work loads of adults and children, and more.
1958 - 1981. Contains 14 collections representing 12 different anti-Vietnam War organizations. The organizations represented in this module are Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, AMEX-Canada, Committee of Concerned Asian Scholars, Fifth Avenue Vietnam Peace Parade Committee, Indochina Peace Campaign, National Peace Action Coalition, New Mobilization Committee to End the War in Vietnam, Paris American Committee to Stop the War, Student Peace Union, Teachers Committee for Peace in Vietnam, and Vietnam Moratorium Committee.
1850 - 1919. Documents the life, work, and vision of Thomas Alva Edison via laboratory notebooks, diaries, business records, correspondence, and related papers.
1914 - 1945. Consists of the correspondence and reports from American diplomats stationed around the world, such as the incoming messages from Washington, retained copies of outgoing dispatches, locally gathered information, and background material on decision making.
1914 - 1945. Consists of the correspondence and reports from American diplomats stationed around the world, such as the incoming messages from Washington, retained copies of outgoing dispatches, locally gathered information, and background material on decision making.
1911 - 1944. Documents the developments and events in the key nations of the world during the period from World War I to the final campaigns of World War II via the U.S. Military Intelligence reports for China, Japan, France, Germany, Italy, Argentina, Mexico, Soviet Union, Biweekly Intelligence Summaries, and Combat Estimates.
Consists of two major sets of records documenting the experience of American women during World War II: Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, and Correspondence of the Director of the Women's Army Corps.
Combines three distinct series of collections from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College focused on voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights.
Documents the American workers and labor unions in the 20th century, with emphasis on the interaction between workers and the U.S. federal government.
1914 - 1920. Covers the political situation in European countries on the outbreak of the war, as reported by military attaches and diplomatic and consular personnel. Also covers the financial position of the warring countries and even anti-war sentiments in 1914.
1915 - 1927. Contains documentation on the American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) during World War I as well as materials on U.S. intelligence operations and the post-war peace process.
Access to President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Map Room Files, Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Records of the War Department Operations Division, U.S. Navy Action and Operational Reports, Records of the Office of War Information, Papers of the War Refugee Board, George C. Marshall Papers, and numerous other collections.
Eleven map collections digitized from the Library of Congress. Content includes maps from the Civil War to World War II.
Over 11,000 map images from the 18th and 19th centuries of North and South America.
Includes 11,000 map images scanned at the University of Texas including maps published by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Additional links are provided to more maps sites.
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers. Emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
1827 - 1998. Provides online access to over 280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant
1690 - 1900. Full text of historical American newspapers from all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Searchable via Readex's Archive of Americana interface.
Includes over 150,000 digitized pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1849-1911. They include the Alta California (1849-1889); the San Francisco Call (1900-1910); the Amador Ledger (1900-1911); the Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911); and the Los Angeles Herald (1905-1907).
Provides access to many California newspapers of historical significance dating as far back as 1849. Newspapers from San Francisco, Sacramento, San Jose, Stockton and Benicia are included.
Search and read newspaper pages from 1777-1963 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
1808 - 1980. A collection of Spanish-language and Spanish/English newspapers printed in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage begins in 1808 with the first Spanish-language newspaper printed in the U.S.
1785 - 2013. The Times covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
1865 - 1922. Provides access to the SF Chronicle just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.
An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II.
1740 - 1940. Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Access is available to the American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries collection.
1543 - 1945. Trace the evolution of feminism by using digital images from more than 4,700 books, periodicals, letters, diaries and pamphlets from Europe, the U.S., Canada, and New Zealand. Contains over two million page images of primary sources.
Full-text, primary documents and critical documentary essays on a variety of topics related to the late nineteenth century in America. Themes include race & ethnicity, labor, Western expansion, gender, and social progress.
Provides access to personal accounts of immigrants who came to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
1960 - 1974. This searchable database includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
Cross-searchable database of official, unclassified U.S. Government policies on homeland security strategy, policy and research documents. Also includes news and reports, websites and governmental and non-governmental databases. Produced by the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
1945 - present. Contains declassified government documents including policy documents, presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, White House communications, email, etc. Covers critical world events from post WWII through the 21st century. Many materials have been gathered through use of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
1817 - 1980. Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 369,000 publications published in 14,500 volumes and over 11 million pages.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
