In your groups, explore a search tool in your assigned category. If possible, explore one that you haven't used before. Answer the following questions on your large sticky note.
Reference sources, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and Wikipedia, provide information such as definitions, brief histories, and biographical information.
The encyclopedia entry, "Race and Media," which is available through the Credo database, comes from the book Media Psychology 101. It is an example of a reference source that provides a brief overview of some of the major issues, along with some definitions. Note that the entry is from 2015.
Media Psychology 101 by
"This book provides a thoughtful and balanced look at some of the hot topics generating headlines, such as media violence, body image, social representation and sex in the media.Media Psychology 101 will be a valuable addition to introductory courses and the public as a user-friendly overview of much-discussed issues. -Pamela Rutledge, PsycCRITIQUES There are few areas of modern social science that are as fiercely debated as media psychology. Written by one of the foremost experts on the topic, this is a concise overview of what is known√>=and not known√>=about how individuals are affected by and interact with various forms of mass media. The book critically examines research from cognitive, social, developmental, biological, and evolutionary approaches to psychology and addresses the interplay between media consumption and viewer behavior in such realms as advertising, body image, sex, and violence. Distinguished by its examination of research from a scientifically objective position, the book offers students not only current knowledge of media psychology but also the tools to challenge commonly held assumptions from popular advocacy and ideology. This text cuts across different psychological approaches to studying how individuals are affected by mass media and includes research from criminal justice and sociology. It considers critical debates in media psychology and how debates in science themselves can be influenced by processes such as "moral panic." Written in a lively, accessible manner, the book draws upon engaging examples such as Photoshopped model controversies, dubious advertising practices, and attempts to blame violent crimes on media to illustrate scholarly principles. Throughout, data from research studies are related back to real-world phenomena such as violence rates, advertising dollars spent, or changes in the news media. Written for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students studying media psychology, the text will also be of value to professionals in psychology, sociology, and criminal justice as well as individuals involved in public policy as it relates to media effects. Key Features Offers an objective, interdisciplinary approach to understanding media and behavior Draws from cognitive, social, developmental, and biological psychology, as well as criminal justice research and sociology Challenges the conclusions drawn from research to foster critical thinking Written in a lively, accessible writing style with engaging examples
Provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, measurement conversions and more. For Chrome browser users, follow this link to troubleshoot a known issue.
Search over 250 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
There are many podcasts that touch on the various topics covered in your class, including race, ethnicity, gender, sexuality, religion, etc. Below is just a sample. To find more:
Try running a search for podcasts online.
Example: "Native American*" AND film* AND podcast*
Use a directory (basically, a list) to point you to podcasts you might be interested in listening to.
Example: Podcasts in Color
Books are useful for background information and can add depth to a research topic or put your topic in context with other important issues. Some books are also scholarly, such as those published by a university press.
The book below, Algorithms of Oppression, is an example of a scholarly book. It was published by New York University Press in 2018.
Algorithms of Oppression by
As seen in Wired and Time A revealing look at how negative biases against women of color are embedded in search engine results and algorithms Run a Google search for "black girls"--what will you find? "Big Booty" and other sexually explicit terms are likely to come up as top search terms. But, if you type in "white girls," the results are radically different. The suggested porn sites and un-moderated discussions about "why black women are so sassy" or "why black women are so angry" presents a disturbing portrait of black womanhood in modern society. In Algorithms of Oppression, Safiya Umoja Noble challenges the idea that search engines like Google offer an equal playing field for all forms of ideas, identities, and activities. Data discrimination is a real social problem; Noble argues that the combination of private interests in promoting certain sites, along with the monopoly status of a relatively small number of Internet search engines, leads to a biased set of search algorithms that privilege whiteness and discriminate against people of color, specifically women of color. Through an analysis of textual and media searches as well as extensive research on paid online advertising, Noble exposes a culture of racism and sexism in the way discoverability is created online. As search engines and their related companies grow in importance--operating as a source for email, a major vehicle for primary and secondary school learning, and beyond--understanding and reversing these disquieting trends and discriminatory practices is of utmost importance. An original, surprising and, at times, disturbing account of bias on the internet, Algorithms of Oppression contributes to our understanding of how racism is created, maintained, and disseminated in the 21st century. Safiya Noble discusses search engine bias in an interview with USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
EBSCO now hosts ebooks formerly on the NetLibrary platform. Minimum browser requirements: IE 7.0, Firefox 3.0, and Safari 3.0. Adobe Acrobat Reader required for viewing PDF files. Acrobat Reader 8.2 recommended. Single user access. A title become available when a user leaves the ebook page or closes the browser window.
An eBook collection from a variety of academic subject areas. View titles online. Login to use personalized tools such as the bookshelf and highlighting.
Many, but not all, scholarly articles go through a peer review process, which means they are checked by academics and other experts. The articles are often based on original studies (surveys, experiments, clinical trials, etc.), reviews of previous research, or theoretical in nature.
The article "Gender Representation in Children's Literature: 1900-1984" (1989) studied representations of male and female main characters in children's books published in the twentieth century. The findings show that at the beginning and end of the era studied, there seems to have been more equal representation. For books that featured adult or animal characters, males were more represented over time.
The databases below provide access to scholarly articles, as well as other types of content. Read through the descriptions to learn what kind of information each databases contains.
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical .
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Simultaneously searches multiple social science databases, including EconLit, ERIC (education), Philosopher's Index, PsycARTICLES, and many more.
1952 - present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Contains more than 780,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
The Black Studies Center compiles historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Newer records include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
1970 - present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.
1970s - present. A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government reports, etc.
An index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 200 LGBT-specific core periodicals and more than 360 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. Via EBSCO.
1982 - present.A collection of full-text articles from approximately 60 journals covering subjects such as mass communication, journalism and public opinion.
Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more. Previously Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest).
1874 - present. Provides indexes, abstracts and selected full text for hundreds of music journals covering research on topics such as performance, theory, composition, music education, jazz and ethnomusicology. Includes scholarly and popular materials. Previously International Index to Music Periodical Full Text.
News sources provide information about current events. Historical newspapers can provide a snapshot of past events through the perspective of those from the era. In addition to national newspapers, it's also important to look through regional and local papers, including ethnic newspapers and newspaper from other perspectives.
In the Central Valley, the local bilingual (Spanish/English) newspaper is Vida en en Valle, which provides local news from a Hispanic/Latinx community perspective.
1991 - present. Index of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.
Includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History. Full text access to U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 major U.S. and International newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
1985 - present. Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and archives contain coverage as far back as 1985.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
