Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How Do I Find Science & Technology News?
Science and technology news is available from a variety of sources, including websites and databases. The sources below are some suggestions.
Science & Technology News Sources
Items with the number sign # indicate that this source has coverage in the U.S. Major Dailies database. The benefit of using U.S. Major Dailies is the ability to search across New York Times and a few other major newspapers.
Items with the asterisk * indicate that this source also has coverage in the Academic Search Complete database. The benefit of using Academic Search Complete is the ability to search across multiple sources rather than visiting multiple individual websites. To focus on magazine and news content, use the limiters available in ASC to limit to this kind of content.
Newspaper & Magazine Databases
To focus on magazine and news content, use the filters available in Academic Search Complete to limit to this kind of content.
Newsbank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and archives contain coverage as far back as 1985.
Conferences & Organizations
These suggestions aren't meant to serve as an exhaustive list.
Consumer Expo Show (Consumer Technology Association)
"CES is the world's gathering place for all those who thrive on the business of consumer technologies."
Future Technologies Conference
"[T]he world's pre-eminent forum for reporting technological breakthroughs in the areas of Computing, Electronics, AI, Robotics, Security & Communications."
HLTH: The Future of Healthcare
"HLTH is the leading event for innovation in the health industry. It’s an unprecedented, large-scale forum for individuals, companies, and policymakers who are reshaping the health industry to learn, collaborate and evolve."
"The world's largest technical professional organization for the advancement of technology." The organization "sponsors more than 1,800 annual conferences and events worldwide, curating cutting-edge content for all of the technical fields of interest within IEEE."
Institute for the Future
"The core of [IFTF's] work is identifying emerging discontinuities that will transform global society and the global marketplace. We provide organizations with insights into business strategy, design process, innovation, and social dilemmas. Our research spans a broad territory of deeply transformative trends, from health and health care to technology, the workplace, and human identity. IFTF is based in Palo Alto, California."