Search Demo in Academic Search Complete & UC Library Search (10 minutes)
Let's use the research question/topic and keywords we crafted in the spreadsheet:
WRI 10: Spreadsheet (Fall 2023)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
1982 - present.A collection of full-text articles from approximately 60 journals covering subjects such as mass communication, journalism and public opinion.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).
BioMed Central Ltd., provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.
1951 - present. MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicines premier bibliographic database, covering biomedicine and life sciences topics. Includes references from journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Use UC-eLinks to link to full text.
1806 - present. The PsycINFO database contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, , and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts.
Independent Searching (20 minutes)
To Do: Before the 20 minutes are done ...
We will re-convene after 20 minutes for a discussion of your search results.
NewsBank is actually a collection of databases. Each NewsBank database features a set of newspapers with different themes and coverage: NewsBank-Major Metro Newspapers, NewsBank-Acceda Noticias (newspapers in Spanish), NewsBank-Special Reports, and so forth. For this class, we'll be using NewsBank-Access News World. Here's the link:
You can also access NewsBank-Access World News by going to the "Databases" link in the library's home page, clicking "N" in the alphabet at the top of the page, and scrolling to NewsBank-Access World in the list of databases with titles beginning with N.
USING NEWSBANK-ACCESS WORLD NEWS TO FIND ARTICLES ABOUT STATE/LOCAL ISSUES
From the main NewsBank-AWN page, scroll down a bit. Look for the blue box marked "USA-California" and click.
From here, you can search by keywords in the headline or text of the article, or by source (the title of the newspaper you want to search), or other options.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
