Skip to Main Content

Sociology 15: Sociological Research Methods (Van Dyke)

Welcome - Here are some tips to get started

Dear Sociology 15 students, 

Hello! I'm Bronwen Maxson, one of the Instruction & Research Librarians at UC Merced. On Tuesday 9/12, I'll join your class to provide a research strategy workshop to help prepare you for your Soc 15 projects. 

Here are some places to start:

 

Research is a Process (Infographic)

Research is an iterative process. Instead of straightforward and linear, it is repetitive and cyclical. As you move through the steps to learn, you should modify and revise your strategies. Don't be afraid to return to an earlier step to reset your process!Research is a Process infographic; follow the long description link for a web accessible version

Long description of "Research is a Process" for web accessibility

LibWizard Using Sociological Abstracts

Using Sociological Abstracts

Using Sociological Abstracts Tutorial

Through this tutorial you will learn how to

  • access Sociological Abstracts
  • construct a search
  • apply useful database limiters
  • access full-text of articles
  • generate citations in ASA format

Instructions:

1. Connect to the campus network via the VPN if you are off-campus.  You will need this connection to access one or more library databases while taking the tutorial.

2. Take the short quiz at the end of the tutorial.  Enter your email address AND your professor's email address. Afterwards locate the email confirmation. These emails often go to your SPAM folder, so be sure to check there.  It is often easiest to search in your email account for the phrase "Results for Using Sociological Abstracts" to find your email confirmation.

3. You are ready! Click on the link below to start the tutorial. Follow the instructions on the left hand of the screen and, as directed, complete activities in the main screen (right).

Using Sociological Abstracts >> https://ucmercedlibrary.libwizard.com/f/sociological-abstracts

VIDEO: Connecting to Library Resources: The Virtual Private Network (VPN)

Discover why the Virtual Private Network (VPN) is important for your library research and where you can locate VPN download information. (2:01)