LibGuides: Using Images with Confidence: Finding Images

Image Sources

Burst
Free stock photos powered by Shopify.
Flaticon
Icons and stickers for projects. Some are available with attribution while others are part of premium packages.
Flickr
An online photo management and sharing application which is home to billions of photos. Includes a filter for various licenses.
Foodiesfeed
High quality images of food; no licensing information.
Google Advanced Image Search
At Usage Rights, select “Creative Commons licenses”.
Jay Mantri
Photos and video by Jay Mantri with CCO license. Primarily landscapes and urbanscapes.
ISO
High-resolution stock CC0 images and videos. Searchable and organized into categories.
Negative Space
Search or browse categories. Images are licensed with CCO.
OpenVerse (formerly Creative Commons Search)
Searches 500 million images which have Creative Commons licenses or are in the public domain; refine to those you wish to use commercially or modify/adapt.
Pexels
Aggregates images from various individuals and providers including Pixabay. All photos and videos on Pexels can be downloaded and used for free. Attribution is appreciated but not required.
Pixabay
Provides clear license information. Licenses varies per item. Includes photos, vector graphics, illustrations, and videos.
Public Domain Vectors
Brings together vector images with CCO licensing. Ad heavy.
Stocksnap.io
Images are tagged with the CCO license. Stock photos often appear at the top of search results and are not freely available.
The Gender Spectrum Collection
A stock photo library of trans and non-binary models. Photos taken by Zackary Drucker and licensed with the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommerical-NoDeriatives 4.0 International other considerations are given at its Guidelines page.
Unsplash
High-resolution photos. The Unsplash license is similar to a CCO license though they do not name it as such.
Wikimedia Commons
Search freely usable media files. CC licenses are provided for individual items.
WOCinTech
Hosted on flickr with Creative Commons Attribution - License.

Databases with Images

AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Photographs, audio sound bites, and graphics from the Associated Press (AP). The collection includes 12 million photographs from 1826 forward.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over 500,000 images of art, architecture and archeology from a wide range of cultures and time periods to support teaching and learning in the humanities and social sciences. Artstor's high-quality collections and key functionality are now available via JSTOR.
Calisphere This link opens in a new window
Access to unique and historically important digital collections: over two million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.

Digital Collections (New York Public Library)
Features various print, photographs, and other source types. Some are in the public domain.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) This link opens in a new window
An aggregated search across digital collections from libraries, archives, and museums in the United States as well as curated exhibitions and primary source sets developed for classroom use.

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444