Start with our Chatbot. If it can't help, you'll have the option to be connected with a Librarian.
Library of Congress (LC) Call Numbers are like an item's address to help you find where it lives on the shelf. Each letter stands for an academic discipline. In the image below, L is for Education, LD is for Individual Institutions - United States. Can you guess which institution is at LD781.M47 H47 2009?
A magnified image of call numbers in the LD781 range.
To read a call number, read the number from left to right or top to bottom as follows:
Lastly, the shelf is organized from top to bottom in sections, so you'll zig-zag down each section 
to look for your call number before moving to the next section of the shelves.
TIP! There are maps of the "stacks" (library shelves) at the end of each aisle.
Letter |
Subject Area |
|---|---|
| A | General Works |
| B | Philosophy, Psychology, Religion |
| C | Auxiliary Sciences of History |
| D | World History |
| E | History of the Americas |
| F | History of the Americas |
| G | Geography, Anthropology, Recreation |
| H | Social Sciences |
| J | Political Science |
| K | Law |
| L | Education |
| M | Music |
| N | Fine Arts |
| P | Language and Literature |
| Q | Science |
| R | Medicine |
| S | Agriculture |
| T | Technology |
| U | Military Science |
| V | Naval Science |
| Z | Bibliography, Library Science, Information Resources |
To drill down into the LC Classification Outline, use the link below:
Locate books, articles, and more from all UC campuses and beyond in this unified discovery and borrowing system. Use filters and alternative search scopes to narrow your results. Connect via the VPN to view all content available to you. Log in to your account to request material.
Use UC Library Search to both search and browse for books. You can also browse the physical items on the shelf to explore your topic and related, nearby books on that topic.
To find eBooks:
This search will show you eBooks available at UC Merced. To narrow down your results, add additional keywords or use some of the available filters on the left column.
Shakespeare on Masculinity by
Masculinity was a political issue in early modern England. Phrases such as 'courage-masculine' or 'manly virtue' took on a special meaning and signified commitment to the ideals of militant Protestantism. Diplomacy and compromise were disparaged as 'feminine'. Shakespeare on Masculinity is an original study of the way Shakespeare's plays engage with this ideal and a subject that provoked bitter public dispute. Robin Headlam Wells argues that Shakespeare took a sceptical view of the militant-Protestant cult of heroic masculinity. Following a series of portraits of the dangerously charismatic warrior-hero, Shakespeare turned at the end of his writing career to a different kind of leader. If the heroes of the martial tragedies evoke a Herculean ideal of manhood, The Tempest portrays a ruler who, Orpheus-like, uses the arts of civilization to bring peace to a divided world. Other plays receiving close readings include Henry V, Troilus and Cressida, Hamlet, Othello, Macbeth and Coriolanus.
Shakespeare and Appropriation by
The vitality of our culture is still often measured by the status Shakespeare has within it. Contemporary readers and writers continue to exploit Shakespeare's cultural afterlife in a vivid and creative way. This fascinating collection of original essays shows how writers' efforts to imitate, contradict, compete with, and reproduce Shakespeare keep him in the cultural conversation. The essays: * analyze the methods and motives of Shakespearean appropriation * investigate theoretically the return of the repressed author in discussions of Shakespeare's cultural function * put into dialogue theoretical and literary responses to Shakespeare's cultural authority * analyze works ranging from nineteenth century to the present, and genres ranging from poetry and the novel to Disney movies.
Shakespeare and Laughter: A Cultural History by
This book examines laughter in the Shakespearean theatre, in the context of a cultural history of early modern laughter. Aimed at an informed readership as well as graduate students and scholars in the field of Shakespeare studies, it is the first study to focus specifically on laughter, not comedy. It looks at various strands of the early modern discourse on laughter, ranging from medical treatises and courtesy manuals to Puritan tracts and jestbook literature. It argues that few cultural phenomena have undergone as radical a change in meaning as laughter. Laughter became bound up with questions of taste and class identity. At the same time, humanist thinkers revalorised the status of recreation and pleasure. These developments left their trace on the early modern theatre, where laughter was retailed as a commodity in an emerging entertainment industry. Shakespeare´s plays both reflect and shape these changes, particularly in his adaptation of the Erasmian wise fool as a stage figure, and in the sceptical strain of thought that is encapsulated in the laughter evoked in the plays.
EBSCO now hosts ebooks formerly on the NetLibrary platform. Minimum browser requirements: IE 7.0, Firefox 3.0, and Safari 3.0. Adobe Acrobat Reader required for viewing PDF files. Acrobat Reader 8.2 recommended. Single user access. A title become available when a user leaves the ebook page or closes the browser window.
An eBook collection from a variety of academic subject areas. View titles online. Login to use personalized tools such as the bookshelf and highlighting.
Over 90,000 eBooks in specialist subjects covering a wide area of academic content. Consolidates previous CRC Press databases.
Access to the 2021-2024 collections of ebooks from Oxford University Press covering 27 subject areas and projected to contain 1,400 titles.
1928 - present. Perpetual access to nearly every ebook title from the UC Press, which was founded in 1893 and is the sixth largest university press publisher in the United States. Contains 5,000+ titles published since 1928. Available on the De Gruyter platform.
1982 - 2004. Includes almost 2,000 OA books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.
Books, videos, and other materials in library catalogs are assigned official subject headings by the Library of Congress (LCSH) by cataloging librarians. These subject headings describe an item's content and what it is about, and are useful for focusing research on broader, narrower, or related topics. Look for subject heading links in the library catalog to find more items on the same topic. Some subject headings are dated or even problematic, and they can be changed through a petition process.
For example, the book Dance and the Hollywood Latina: Race, Sex, and Stardom has LC subject headings to describe it like "Hispanic Americans in motion pictures" and "Race in motion pictures," but (as of 2022), "Latina" is not an official LCSH and "Latinos" is listed as a variant.
If you know the subject headings that are likely to be tagged on the item you want to find, search by Subject. California -- Merced County is an example of a Geographical Subject Heading.
Subject Headings appear as hyperlinked tags on a book's record in the library catalog.
To search by Subject Heading, start by going to the Advanced Search in UC Library Search, and use the dropdown menu to choose the Subject field.
Subdivisions, or subheadings, are words or phrases which may be added to a subject heading to create a more effective search. They are hyperlinked in LibrarySearch so that you can use them to see all records they are connected with.
Some standard subheadings are:
Type of Subdivision |
Examples |
Useful for: |
|---|---|---|
|
Topical – What this item is about (content) |
Museums Aging Statistical Methods |
Narrowing a broader topic into subtopics |
|
Form |
Dictionaries Periodicals Textbooks |
Useful for locating specific types of materials |
|
Chronological |
21st century Japanese Heian period, 794-1185 Middle Ages, 600-1500 |
Locating information about a particular era or time period |
|
Geographical (place) |
England --London Merced (Calif.) California -- Merced Narnia (Imaginary place) |
Finding information about a specific place or region |
| Other Common Subdivisions |
Bibliography Biography Criticism and interpretation Translations into [language] Social life and customs Fiction |
Locating bibliographies, fiction, etc. |
Cataloging librarians follow specific rules for adding LC Subject Headings to an items record. For questions, please contact library@ucmerced.edu
Long description of "Use Interlibrary Loan" for web accessibility
This graphic was adapted from the original at IUPUI University Library and is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.
Copyright @ The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
