Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide highlights Credo content related to African history and politics. Credo provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, measurement conversions and more. Visit each tab to find Credo Topic Pages and additional content around a particular subject area.
Encyclopedia of African History
Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the eEncyclopedia is an A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent.
Publisher Collection Titles
Please note: Publisher Collections are not part of Credo General Reference collections. Your library may not have access, please check your subscription.
Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
This encyclopedia explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa.
Nigeria's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook by
Exploring the history of ethnic, regional and religious diversity in Nigeria, this volume traces most of the country's current problems to its colonial exploitation. In many ways, Nigeria is a nation in name only, struggling to unite its diverse population. But age-old tribal hostilities are not solely to blame. The conflicts among Nigeria's major ethnic groups are also the legacy of European colonial influence as well as present-day political culture and ethnoregionalism.
Tells stories of barrier-breaking pioneers in all fields-arts, entertainment, business, civil rights, education, government, inventing, journalism, religion, science, sports, and more.
Biographical Dictionary of Modern Egypt
Convering the period from 1760 to the present, provides biodata, biographical sketches, and source material for men and women who have played a major role in Egypt's national life.
Chat with a Librarian 24/7