Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is an Archive?
•Archives are records of the human experience and of enduring value, and may include letters, photographs, sound recordings, and increasingly, digital records
•Archives are materials created or received by a person, family, or organization, public or private, in the conduct of their affairs and preserved because of the enduring value contained in the information they contain or as evidence of the functions and responsibilities of their creator.
•Archives are organizations that collects the records of individuals, families, or other organizations; a collecting archives.
California Agriculture Resource Archive (CARA)
CARA Aggregates all of the UC Cooperative Extension Archival material in one place and includes collections guides and digitized content.
The Online Archive of California
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses
Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over 750,000 photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more
Digital Public Library of America DPLA
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
UCSF Chemical Industry Documents Archive
An archive of documents from the chemical industry related to their manufacturing, operations, regulatory activities, and scientific research, hosted by the UCSF Library and Center for Knowledge Management.
National Agriculture Library Digital Exhibits
The National Agriculture Library has digital exhibits on Small Agriculture, School Gardens, Subsistence Homesteads, and Victory Gardens and Farms
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge. There are more than 120 partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide
Hilgardia was the primary technical publication of University of California Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources for 70 years, published from 1925 to 1995. The full series has been digitized.
California Agricultural Experiment Station Publications
The following CAES publications have been digitized: Bulletin, Circular, Extension Service Circular, Lithoprint, Manual, and Publications in Agricultural Sciences.
A.P. Giannini Foundation Research Report Series
The Giannini Foundation of Agricultural Economics promotes and supports research and outreach activities in agricultural economics and rural development relevant to California. Members of the Giannini Foundation are University of California faculty and Cooperative Extension specialists in agricultural and resource economics on the Berkeley, Davis, and Riverside campuses. Established in 1930.
Internet Archive collects published works and make them available in digital formats. We are building a public library that can serve anyone in the world with access to the Internet.
National Agriculture Library Digital Collections
The National Agriculture Library Digital Collections includes historical publications, U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) research, and more. The scope of the NALDC includes the following:
Items published by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and clearly intended for public consumption;
Scholarly and peer-reviewed research outcomes authored by USDA employees while working for USDA; and other collections