Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
California Agricultural Statistics Review
California Agricultural Statistics Review generated by the California Department of Food & Agriculture. This site has the California Annual Crop Reports from 2012-2017.
Census of Agriculture Historical Archive
The USDA Census of Agriculture Historical Archive is a collaborative project between Albert R. Mann Library at Cornell University and the National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The site serves as a public archive of Census publications published prior to 2007. The Census of Agriculture, taken every five years, is a complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. The Census looks at land use and ownership, operator characteristics, production practices, income and expenditures, and many other areas.
FAOSTAT is produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available. Topics include food and agricultural production and trade, fisheries, land use and irrigation, fertilizers and more. The comprehensive databases cover many countries over long periods of time.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration National Center for Environmental Information
NCEI is the world’s largest provider of weather and climate data. Land-based, marine, model, radar, weather balloon, satellite, and paleoclimatic are just a few of the types of datasets available.
United States Department of Agricultural (USDA) National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples.
USDA NASS California Statistics
In cooperation with the California Department of Food and Agriculture USDA NASS offers the Quick Stats searchable database for California, California County Estimates, California Agriculture Overview, and the Census of Agriculture for California
USDA NASS Quick Stats Tools
The Quick Stats Database is the most comprehensive tool for accessing agricultural data published by NASS. It allows you to customize your query by commodity, location, or time period. You can then visualize the data on a map, manipulate and export the results, or save a link for future use.
USDA Ag Data Commons
The Ag Data Commons is a data access system maintained by the US Department of Agriculture's (USDA) National Agricultural Library. It uses a customized version of open-source DKAN software, which is compliant with U.S. Project Open Data standards for federal agencies providing access to publicly-funded data. Ag Data Commons holds data files managed directly by NAL and also links to datasets and resources located on other websites. The Ag Data Commons provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research and related domains. These may include subjects such as agronomy, genomics, hydrology, soils, agro-ecosystems, sustainability science, and economic statistics. Data included in the Ag Data Commons is funded in whole or in part by USDA.
USDA Forest Service Research Data Archive
The USDA Forest Service Research Data Archive publishes and preserves short and long-term research data collected from studies funded by: Forest Service Research and Development, Joint Fire Science Program, and Aldo Leopold Wilderness Research Institute. Of special interest, our collection includes data from a number of Forest Service Experimental Forests and Ranges.
Web Soil Survey
Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future. The site has both current and historical soil surveys available and offers a wide range of ways to view the data, including the Soil Series Extent Mapping Tool and the Geospatial Data Gateway.