Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Book Reviews in Databases
Databases such as the ones below can be a great source for locating book reviews. Search by topic or subject and refine the results by applying the Book Review limiter.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences. The Book Review limiter is found on the left hand side under Source Types.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
1952 - present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources. The Book Review limiter is found under Document Type.
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture. The Book Review limiter is found under Article Type.
Web of Science
Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present). Also includes Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI). The Book Review limited is found under Document Types.
Finding Book Reviews in Specific Journals
The sociology journals listed here also contain book reviews. Reviews may vary between short reviews (1-2 pages) and longer review essays (4-5 pages or longer). If available, search within the journal using "book review".