Sociology Graduate Student Resources

Provides access to a full-text database of over 15,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, and selected reference works. Access Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One from the top left waffle menu.

Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.

1985 - present. Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and archives contain coverage as far back as 1985.

1690 - 1900. Full text of historical American newspapers from all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Searchable via Readex's Archive of Americana interface. 

1985 - present. LA Times news stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.

1881 - 2010. Provides access to LA Times content just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

1985 - present. Access to the article content of the London newspaper.

1785 - 2013. The Times covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.

Grants digital access to NYTimes.com from 1851 to present, including video, multimedia, and multi-language articles. Users activate with UC Merced email on campus or via VPN, re-authenticating annually.

1984 - present. WSJ is the worlds leading financial newspaper. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.

1889 - 1994. Provides access to the WSJ just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.