LibGuides: Sociology Graduate Student Resources: Grants & Funding

PIVOT: Recommended Grant and Funding Subscription Database

Pivot This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a comprehensive collection of funding sources for academic research. Pivot compiles pre-populated researcher profiles and matches them to current funding opportunities in the Community of Science database. Includes calls for journal and conference papers.

Note: Tracked opps (opportunities) are considered less vital than Active opps. You can shared Tracked opps with others. Look for Share option at right opportunity page.

PIVOT Snapshot

PIVOT Guide (ProQuest)
Within PIVOT, there is also a Help button in the upper right.
PIVOT Training Videos
on ProQuest Pivot's YouTube channel

Search Engines for Grants & Awards

Grants.gov
Grants.gov is a central storehouse for information on over 1,000 grant programs offered by federal grant-making agencies and provides access to approximately $500 billion in annual awards.
Harvard University GSAS Database
From Harvard University Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, this public database provides access to grant and fellowship opportunities through multiple search options.
Philanthropy News Digest, RFPs
A service of Foundation Center, PND publishes a searchable list of RFPs and notices of awards from grant-making organizations and nonprofits.
UCLA Grapes
UCLA's Graduate and Postdoctoral Extramural Support Graduate Education database, search by various criteria to gain access to scholarships, grants, fellowships, and postdoctoral awards. Offers award announcement email notifications.

Additional Sources

Chronicle of Philanthropy This link opens in a new window
Provides news and grant information for tax-exempt organizations in health, education, religion, the arts, social services, and other fields.
Harry Frank Guggenheim Distinguished Scholar Awards This link opens in a new window
The foundation welcomes proposals from any of the natural and social sciences and the humanities that promise to increase understanding of the causes, manifestations, and control of violence and aggression. Formally the Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation Research Grants.

National Science Foundation: Sociology Funding
Grant and application information from NSF Division of Social and Economic Sciences.

Office of Extramural Research: National Institutes of Health This link opens in a new window
OER supports extramural research by providing policy and guidance to the 24 NIH Institutes and Centers that award grants.

UCSF Sociology Doctoral Program
Detailed list of funding sources compiled by UCSF.

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444

Sociology Graduate Student Resources