Water in California: Key Resources - Water

[For major reservoirs, whose combined capacity represents around one-third of all California reservoirs' capacity: about 94 million acre feet]

[Total Capacity for ALL California Reservoirs, CDWR; the entire amount that each reservoir can hold]

[the main site for all California water supply data; includes links to information about precipitation, snowpack, groundwater, and reservoir conditions]

[Includes data on snowpack depth, snow-water equivalency, and percentage of average]

[Includes statistics for common water usage applications, with interactive calculations for urban demand, agricultural demand, water supply development, water recycling, lost water recovery, and water storage]

[overview of 2010 California water use, with data download]

[summarizes water withdrawal by category; click on County for snapshot of water withdrawal]

[the main site for all California water supply data; includes links to information about precipitation, snowpack, groundwater, and reservoir conditions]

[For major reservoirs, whose combined capacity represents around one-third of all California reservoirs' capacity: about 94 million acre feet]

[the entire amount that each reservoir can hold, in acre feet]

[a comprehensive source of statistics, figures, and graphs pertaining to reservoir capacity, storage, supply, and outflows]

[geographic information on groundwater levels and quality, based on field monitoring stations (download by individual sites)]

[part of the California Water Data Library]

[customizable geographic information on California groundwater levels]

[includes data on snowpack depth, snow-water equivalency, and percentage of average]

[includes all data on California snowpack, including daily snow-water equivalencies, historical averages across the system, and individual snowpack sensors]

[summarizes water withdrawal by category; click on County for a snapshot of water withdrawal]

[overview of 2010 California water use data, with data download]

[survey of water use by these categories: public supply; domestic; irrigation; thermoelectric power; industrial; mining; livestock; aquaculture]

[Includes statistics for common water usage applications, with interactive calculations for urban demand, agricultural demand, water supply development, water recycling, lost water recovery, and water storage]

[with link to report that statistically documents uses across all categories]

[source for environmental water use data on the USGS site]

[interactive graphics of water use trends]

[includes data on California water use, especially agricultural]

[information on California groundwater]

[responsibilities identified in the 2014 Sustainable Groundwater Management Act (SGMA)]

[climate.gov overview of California groundwater conditions]

[2014 report to the Governor's Drought Task Force]

[describes mandatory 25% cuts across a variety of uses]

"Untapped Savings" infographic

[in-depth coverage of water in California and the American West]

January 2010

[includes water use calculator]

[industry clearinghouse for civic and residential water management]

USDA

based on 2005 data

See "Estimated Water Usage" 50 States -- does not yet include the 2010 data; however, you can view usage across 5 year period up until 2005

[comprehensive database of statistics per state, for instance pertaining to Environment, Resources, and Weather (a section that includes water use data)]

Includes Population Estimates, Population Projections, Population Density in California, also available at the County level. To select more than one county, use the Shift key.

Brings together news on public policy issues of concern to the San Joaquin Valley, California, and U.S.

population estimates and trends including county populations ranked
e.g. Advanced Search >> search Population (topic or table name) for California (state, county or place)

e.g. See Age & Sex distribution document and Figure 7 on "Median Age by Count: 2010"

includes density information for California; specific California map

a 2010 Census brief; information on population density

from California State Association of Counties

from Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (UT Libraries)

e.g. see U.S.State Maps, includes outline maps