Researching Social Determinants of Health & Health Disparities

Tools for measuring healthcare quality, including the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports, AHRQ Quality Indicators, and ambulatory clinical performance measures.

America's Health Rankings from the United Health Foundation, state information calculated from factors encompassing behaviors, environment and community, public and health policies, and clinical care.

Reports highlighting effective public health programs and strategies that have reduced disparities.

CDC resources for SDOH data, research, tools for action, programs, and policy.

UC Merced researchers across disciplines are addressing health disparities and developing innovative solutions

provides an array of regularly updated data specific to neighborhood and/or city boundaries – such as life expectancy, obesity, and children in poverty -- to improve the health and well-being of everyone in the community. From NYU Langone Health.

From the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute; provides data, evidence, guidance, and examples to build awareness of the multiple factors that influence health and support leaders in growing community power to improve health equity

Non-partisan organization dedicated to achieving high-quality, affordable health care and improved health for all, centered around four pillars: value, equity, coverage, and consumer experience.

Population-specific differences in access to quality health care, including gender, race, geography, environment, or other factors, can affect individual and community health.

From the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, the goal of Healthy People is to set out objectives to improve the health of Americans; information on health priorities in the U.S.

The National Equity Atlas is America's most detailed report card on racial and economic equity.

The Office of Minority Health (OMH) at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services; contains resource center including population profiles.

from the Kaiser Family Foundation.

Culled by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States.

US data & fact sheets related to access, hospital care, drug use, expenditures, insurance coverage and more.

HCUP tools and software help health services researchers and decision makers access the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States.

Tools and data resources related to health care coverage and access.

Data re health insurance coverage, the percentage of people covered by health insurance and the sources of health insurance.

CDI enables public health professionals and policymakers to retrieve uniformly defined state-level data for chronic diseases and risk factors that have a substantial impact on public health.

Data portal for selected diseases and conditions.

Statistics and data for diseases and conditions, injuries, and more.

landing page to read the full profile document and to obtain County Data Sheets for 2015

From Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Includes information about diseases and conditions.

From Medline Plus. Includes information about disorders and conditions, health and wellness, and demographic groups.

From the World Health Organization (WHO).

From Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Includes information about different health topics, life stages, and specific populations.

The National Vital Statistics System is the oldest and most successful example of inter-governmental data sharing in Public Health and the shared relationships, standards, and procedures form the mechanism by which NCHS collects and disseminates the Nation’s official vital statistics. These data are provided through contracts between NCHS and vital registration systems operated in the various jurisdictions legally responsible for the registration of vital events – births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths.

From the Mayo Clinic. Includes information about diseases and conditions.